Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > General Chat > Talk of the Town

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-06-2004, 07:57 PM   #11
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default Re: Dumping NES ROM from GBA Cartridge

> I don't think that this will be in the GBA version, the iNES
> header is an emulator format, not part of the ROM itself,
> and I highly doubt that Nintendo would use it in their own
> products.
What he meant was that
> the data after the iNES header (the beginning of the ROM
> proper) would likely be the same. The ZELDA string at the
> end might work, too... SMB games similarly have their name
> in the code. Deadly Towers has a message from the
> programmers in it...

In all likelihood this does too then, because as I uderstand it this is basically like an official hack of Zelda 1, which is just wonderfully ironic.
<img src=smilies/magbiggrin.gif>

Ok, now that I remember that the iNES header isn't actually a part of the NES...er...spec so to speak, I'll figure this out eventually. lol My Flash Linker isn't co-operating though, I think my printer cable is going bad. It decided it doesn't want to back ANYTHING up, including games that I have backed up before using it (and all of those were good dumps I might add).

When I figure it out I'll let everyone know. I should post an IPS patch so no one else has to go through this. lol

*edit*
This is proof positive that the FlashAdvance Pro Linker hardware was designed by Satan. I fixed my problem by turning the power switch to OFF. Interestingly, while I know it's a valid dump, it doesn't work on VisualBoy Advance. I get an error screen stating "Game Pak error , turn off the power" or something like that.

<P ID="signature">http://www.xanga.com/ZeldaDD</a></P><P ID="edit"><FONT class="small">Edited by The 9th Sage on 07/06/04 04:36 PM.</FONT></P>
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2004, 09:21 PM   #12
Disch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 4,387
Default Re: Dumping NES ROM from GBA Cartridge

> Ok, now that I remember that the iNES header isn't actually
> a part of the NES...er...spec so to speak

Yeah. If it's just a dump of the ROM, then the iNES header wouldn't be included in the GBA version (and possibly, the PRG banks are ordered differently, although that's rather unlikely).

Then again... the emulation scene isn't exactly new to Nintendo... so they might have very well just taken a ROM with the iNES header and slapped it on the cart. I guess you'll find out once you find the NES ROM image on that GBA ROM.

> Interestingly, while I
> know it's a valid dump, it doesn't work on VisualBoy
> Advance. I get an error screen stating "Game Pak error ,
> turn off the power" or something like that.

Yeah... I heard VBA doesn't run the classic NES series. I remember people complaining about it.

<P ID="signature"></P>
Disch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2004, 10:56 PM   #13
phonymike
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 278
Default Here's a couple facts

You won't find the nes rom in the gba rom cause it's under some sort of compression. But when the emu runs, the rom gets extracted to 0x2000000 in RAM. You can use VBA to save this ram data (0x20000 bytes,) and then add a 16 byte header to the beginning of the file. This method also worked with metroid zero mission, but I thought the nes rom started a little later in ram. Just dump the RAM (a total of 0x40000 bytes) and compare it to an nes rom you already have.

p.s. if anyone wants my resource data files *wink*wink* just pm me.

<P ID="signature">immortality</P>
phonymike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2004, 01:38 AM   #14
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default Re: Here's a couple facts

> You won't find the nes rom in the gba rom cause it's under
> some sort of compression.

I was wondering if that was the case...I couldn't find any references/indications of there being a NES ROM in there, although I knew there HAD to be one in there. Thanks, I was wondering if something weird like that was happening..

>But when the emu runs, the rom
> gets extracted to 0x2000000 in RAM. You can use VBA to save
> this ram data (0x20000 bytes,) and then add a 16 byte header
> to the beginning of the file.

Aw, you're a life saver.

>This method also worked with
> metroid zero mission, but I thought the nes rom started a
> little later in ram. Just dump the RAM (a total of 0x40000
> bytes) and compare it to an nes rom you already have.

Are there any changes to THAT ROM, or is it a 'vanilla' Metroid ROM? Anyway, thank you so much, you've saved me a LOT of time.


<P ID="signature">http://www.xanga.com/ZeldaDD</a></P>
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2004, 01:41 AM   #15
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default Re: Dumping NES ROM from GBA Cartridge

> Yeah... I heard VBA doesn't run the classic NES series. I
> remember people complaining about it.

It won't run off of my Flashcart either. Copy Protection perhaps?


<P ID="signature">http://www.xanga.com/ZeldaDD</a></P>
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2004, 01:57 AM   #16
Alevice
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 94
Default Re: Here's a couple facts

> Are there any changes to THAT ROM, or is it a 'vanilla'
> Metroid ROM? Anyway, thank you so much, you've saved me a
> LOT of time.
>
Progress is recorded to saveram rather than password. I dont think they even fixed resolution, given how squished the game looks

<P ID="signature">_-|-_</P>
Alevice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2004, 02:02 AM   #17
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default Re: Here's a couple facts

> Progress is recorded to saveram rather than password. I dont
> think they even fixed resolution, given how squished the
> game looks

Really? I thought the saving the progress bit was hardcoded into the emulator, not a part of the ROM. I'd like to get my hands on that then, too. Good thing I happen to have my Metroid Zero Mission cartridge right here.


<P ID="signature">http://www.xanga.com/ZeldaDD</a></P>
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2004, 02:26 AM   #18
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default But...

I must be doing something stupid, I can't see NES graphics at all in the memory dump. I did what you said, I think. Starting at address 0x20000, copy 0x40000 bytes.

<P ID="signature">http://www.xanga.com/ZeldaDD</a></P>
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2004, 12:32 PM   #19
cipher
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 1,034
Default Re: But...

> I must be doing something stupid, I can't see NES graphics
> at all in the memory dump. I did what you said, I think.
> Starting at address 0x20000, copy 0x40000 bytes.
>

Offset 0x2000000, dump 0x20000. Yay zeros.

<P ID="signature">-----
ciphz0r</P>
cipher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2004, 03:06 PM   #20
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default Re: But...

> Offset 0x2000000, dump 0x20000. Yay zeros.

That was it. I'm such an idiot. Please excuse my stupidity with this stuff. As much as I DO know, there's way more that I don't. <img src=smilies/banghead.gif> But anyway, thanks everyone. I know I can slap an iNES header (copied from the original Zelda ROM) on there myself, I did it succesfully last night to the memory dump containing no NES data. >_<

<P ID="signature">http://www.xanga.com/ZeldaDD</a></P>
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:40 PM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.