Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > General Chat > Talk of the Town

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2008, 03:42 PM   #1
Malicient
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 10
Default DVD-RW Problems

Just this morning my DVD-RW drive (TSSTCorp TS-H652L) started reading ALL of my blank DVDs as "0 bytes used, 0 bytes free so it will not burn any of them. Can someone tell me what's going on?
Malicient is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2008, 08:39 PM   #2
Cornellius
Senior Member
 
Cornellius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Québec/Canada
Posts: 2,789
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Malicient View Post
Just this morning my DVD-RW drive (TSSTCorp TS-H652L) started reading ALL of my blank DVDs as "0 bytes used, 0 bytes free so it will not burn any of them. Can someone tell me what's going on?
Which brand of CDs are you using ? Also, you might want to check your drive with a tool like Everest or WinAudit, to see if, for example, your drive support DVD-R and DVD+R, things like that.
__________________
My job

Industrial electronic technician
Industrial mechanic (Millwright)
Cornellius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 02:52 AM   #3
Malicient
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 10
Default

Well, I fixed it by uninstalling it and re-installing the firmware update.
Malicient is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 07:01 PM   #4
Cornellius
Senior Member
 
Cornellius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Québec/Canada
Posts: 2,789
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Malicient View Post
Well, I fixed it by uninstalling it and re-installing the firmware update.
That was my next advice, to update the firmware. Glad you got it fixed.
__________________
My job

Industrial electronic technician
Industrial mechanic (Millwright)
Cornellius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 02:47 AM   #5
Malicient
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cornellius View Post
That was my next advice, to update the firmware. Glad you got it fixed.
I spoke too soon, it burned two DVDs, and now it's screwing up really badly. It now tries to read at the same speed as my old 8x CD-RW drive. Now it wants to take a whole 6 hours just to copy the data of a DVD, that doesn't even include the time to burn it.
Malicient is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008, 01:01 AM   #6
Cornellius
Senior Member
 
Cornellius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Québec/Canada
Posts: 2,789
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Malicient View Post
I spoke too soon, it burned two DVDs, and now it's screwing up really badly. It now tries to read at the same speed as my old 8x CD-RW drive. Now it wants to take a whole 6 hours just to copy the data of a DVD, that doesn't even include the time to burn it.
Hrm... I guess you should ask your CD-ROM drive maker, or ask on their website's forum. I suspect it is drive related, and not options or software related.
__________________
My job

Industrial electronic technician
Industrial mechanic (Millwright)
Cornellius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 01:37 AM   #7
Richter X
Senior Member
 
Richter X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Hagan, Georgia, United States of America
Posts: 1,784
Default

(admin note: said spam has been deleted)

*Looks up*

What the hell? Don't we have some sort of adbot blocker on here!? >.<'
Richter X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 01:55 PM   #8
symbolic X
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Okay, that seems news to me. Because I never had too many DVD-burning problems since I have one on my brother's computer. I never seen any weird behavior among normal DVD-burning.

Sir, make sure you have an active warranty on that burner. If you didn't activate it, do so and then wait a couple of days. That way, the manufacturer will pretend that the player broke a couple of days after the warranty was activated. If you have no warranty at all, you're totally screwed.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 04:28 PM   #9
Reaper man
Member
 
Reaper man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,409
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Richter X View Post
(admin note: said spam has been deleted)

*Looks up*

What the hell? Don't we have some sort of adbot blocker on here!? >.<'
the most we have on here is registration captcha and making validating the account via email. If there was a way I could add more, I would. I need to get a hold of edman and see if he could update the board software. That would help immensely.
__________________
Reaper man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 05:36 PM   #10
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default

Unfortunately all we can do is ban them, and IP Ban/ban e-mails when possible (which sadly it isn't always).
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:38 AM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.