Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > General Emulation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-23-2004, 09:08 AM   #1
BaseballStars
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1
Default NeoGeo on MAME?

Is there a way to play NeoGeo on MAME? I downloaded Baseball Stars Professional, a MAME rom, and when i go to load it doesnt find some files named neo-geo*.* (dont remember the extenstion) and some other things like that and doesnt seem to work. I dont want to just go get a NEO-GEO emu because i wnat to play it online.. can anyone help?

<P ID="signature">I done earned the name of BG No Joke brah</P>
BaseballStars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2004, 02:47 PM   #2
packardmelan
Senior Member
 
packardmelan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 707
Default Re: NeoGeo on MAME?

You need the Neo-Geo BIOS Roms for it to work. MAME has a Neo-Geo emulator built in, but you need a BIOS first. I know there's a 'Universal' rom set out there somewhere, but standard ROM rules apply: no requesting, and if you look hard enough on Google, you'll find them anyway. (Maybe searching for 'essential bios roms' or something, I don't know.)

<P ID="signature">It doesn't matter if you’re 7'8" and weigh 100 lbs, or you're 4'9" and weigh 300 lbs, or black, green, or blue. That's Gene's greatest legacy to all of us - inclusion for the world. - Robert Blackman</P>
__________________
...a man's reach should exceed his grasp, or what's a heaven for? -- Robert Browning
packardmelan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2004, 05:37 PM   #3
MooglyGuy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 4,014
Default Re: NeoGeo on MAME?

> I know there's a 'Universal' rom set out there somewhere,

Which, if you're referring to Razoola's Universal BIOS, is not supported by MAME as it is not officially produced by SNK nor is it found on any unmodified commercial boards.

<P ID="signature"></P>
MooglyGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2004, 08:52 PM   #4
packardmelan
Senior Member
 
packardmelan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 707
Default Re: NeoGeo on MAME?

I just know the emulator I use on my Xbox uses it. I didn't think it was on any 'unmodified boards', but really, why would anyone play a game on MAME if they owned a real Neo-Geo?

<P ID="signature">It doesn't matter if you’re 7'8" and weigh 100 lbs, or you're 4'9" and weigh 300 lbs, or black, green, or blue. That's Gene's greatest legacy to all of us - inclusion for the world. - Robert Blackman</P>
__________________
...a man's reach should exceed his grasp, or what's a heaven for? -- Robert Browning
packardmelan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2004, 03:21 AM   #5
Reaper man
Member
 
Reaper man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,409
Default stupid question, but

shouldn't this be in general emulation?

<P ID="signature"><center>
sig not found...</center></P>
__________________
Reaper man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2004, 04:13 AM   #6
Alevice
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 94
Default Re: NeoGeo on MAME?

Get Kawaks

<P ID="signature">_-|-_</P>
Alevice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2004, 06:25 AM   #7
MooglyGuy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 4,014
Default Re: NeoGeo on MAME?

> Get Kawaks

Good advice for any other Neo-Geo issue, but in this case he's missing the BIOS files, which will prevent him from using Neo-Geo games with ANY Neo-Geo emulator.

<P ID="signature"></P>
MooglyGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2004, 05:50 PM   #8
Lillymon
Senior Member
 
Lillymon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,379
Default Re: NeoGeo on MAME?

> Which, if you're referring to Razoola's Universal BIOS, is
> not supported by MAME

Which is why I use MAME32 Plus!

BTW, it's actually the 'Universe' BIOS and version 2.0 was recently released.

<P ID="signature"><marquee direction=left scrollamount=8><img src=http://home.graffiti.net/lillymon:graffiti.net/images/keletav.gif></marquee>
!luos ruoy tae lliw stelek ehT</P>
__________________
Amelia Explains It All - Eventually. Probably.
Lillymon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:41 AM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.