Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > General Chat > Talk of the Town

View Poll Results: How many monitors do you have?
Only one monitor, 4:3 3 15.79%
Only one monitor, widescreen 8 42.11%
Only one monitor, but I don't know its screen ratio 0 0%
Two or more monitors, all 4:3 1 5.26%
Two or more monitors, all widescreen 1 5.26%
Two or more monitors, mixed 6 31.58%
Completely unsure 0 0%
Voters: 19. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-2008, 12:51 AM   #1
symbolic X
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default What all monitors do you have running?

For this poll, I have two monitors. They're both mixed. Usually, my notebook is a primary widescreen at 16:9 while my other is at 4:3. I'm talking all kinds of monitors with screen ratios here. What's yours?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 02:41 AM   #2
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default

I have my laptop and my TV (which doubles as a monitor sometimes for me), both widescreen.
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 03:13 AM   #3
Reaper man
Member
 
Reaper man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,409
Default

16:10 24" gateway HD monitor running at 1920*1200

it's nice, since it also has component inputs as well :3

oh and I also have an old CRT that has a max res of 1280*1024... 17" I think

it's my backup, I'm not using it at the moment
__________________
Reaper man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 04:27 PM   #4
Umiliphus
Senior Member
 
Umiliphus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: A shoe
Posts: 192
Default

I use a Gateway 2000 "Vivitron" which I bought used at some now defunct shop across from an eventually also defunct Compusa, because the display imploded on my last monitor. This one lately exhibits horizontal artifacts beside high contrast areas, but I'm cheap enough to have ignored them for a year. The resolution is 1024x768 most of the time, but I can turn that all the way up to 1280x1024 if the need arises, though anything which actually uses the space is likely to be more than my processor can process.
Umiliphus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 04:46 PM   #5
retroguiden
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 36
Default

I didn't think to count my TV when I voted. Well, i'm old-school all the way. Using an old (but good) IBM C92 CRT-monitor and then my even older 28" Grundig television set.
retroguiden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 10:00 PM   #6
Lillymon
Senior Member
 
Lillymon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,379
Default

One on this PC, a 21" LCD (16:10) and another on a different PC, a 17" CRT (4:3).
__________________
Amelia Explains It All - Eventually. Probably.
Lillymon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 10:31 PM   #7
Shadow
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 108
Default

1 x CRT 19"
1 x LCD 17"
2 x CRT 15"
2 x TV

used by different PC and Laptops.

2 x 15" widescreen Laptops
1 x 9" Laptop
2 x PCs

Well. I think this is more than enough. But I may buy another LCD or two for my company PC.
Shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 11:38 PM   #8
symbolic X
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

And BTW, it's okay to use a TV as an external monitor, at least mine does have an s-video.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2008, 04:15 PM   #9
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by symbolic X View Post
And BTW, it's okay to use a TV as an external monitor, at least mine does have an s-video.
Actually I can just hook VGA up to my HD set, so it pretty much IS a monitor then.
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 05:12 PM   #10
symbolic X
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

And only the latest flat-screen TV's would no doubt have the VGA and s-video ports, I'm really looking to get one of those soon. If I do, I'll make sure the TV is ready for something like THIS!
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:14 AM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.