Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > General Chat > Talk of the Town

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-14-2004, 07:51 AM   #1
Diskeater
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 1,460
Default Emulation and TV Display

Well, I finally completed my mini system that is completely devoted to emulation. Besides the standard tasks associated with setting up a new computer, I now have to set up all the emulators I plan on using.

So far, I've chosen to use FCE Ultra, ZSnes, Project 64, and MAME (all of these would be the windows versions). The one thing I'm running into right now is properly setting up each emulator to display properly on my TV. I've never done something like that before, so any helpful tips or suggestions on what settings I should use would be fantastic. I know that "what looks the best" is pretty subjective, but even a decent base to start from would be good.

My specs, if at all relevant:

Athlon 1800+
256 megs RAM
Windows 2000
GeForce 4 something or other integrated graphics

Thanks!

<P ID="signature">http://diskeater.homestead.com/files/newtat.jpg</a>
</P>
Diskeater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2004, 08:16 AM   #2
Lenophis
Senior Member
 
Lenophis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,386
Default Re: Emulation and TV Display

Well, as long as your video card has TV-out and you have some way of TV-in.

If you choose fullscreen mode (<s>highly recommended</s> REQUIRED!) then there is no distortion from the super-ultra-high res that the TV can't get right...

The TV-out does not provide sound though. You'll need to splice your audio-out signal to run to the TV as well.
My setup in case you are curious:
Video card -> multi-input switch (s video) -> VCR (analog) -> TV (analog). Not coax, the video cable like how the SNES, N64, PS use.
Now sound...hehe, this was a little tricky.
Sound card -> "Y" splitter -> (end 1) monitor speakers... (end 2) -> rca to red/white converter -> multi-input switch (red/white) -> VCR -> stereo (input only)

Since the TV already gets the RF version of input, then I get sound from the monitor, TV, AND stereo. Psuedo-surround sound!

--Edit--
If you didn't pick up on it, the only thing you have to worry about is fullscreen mode. That's about it. (My preference anyway.)

<P ID="signature"><img src=http://www.cpinternet.com/~norwin/lenophis/sig.png>
"For lovers of irony; I'll just say one thing...wishes do come true." - Lobster Cowboy. Jade</p><P ID="edit"><FONT class="small">Edited by Lenophis on 08/14/04 04:46 AM.</FONT></P>
__________________
Lenophis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2004, 03:42 PM   #3
Atma
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 910
Default Re: Emulation and TV Display

> Well, as long as your video card has TV-out and you have some way of TV-in.

Using AV generally does the trick for me (even though my card outputs s-video, my tv doesn't have s-video input).

> If you choose fullscreen mode (highly recommended REQUIRED!) then there is no
> distortion from the super-ultra-high res that the TV can't get right...

Distortion? no, you shouldn't have any problems with that however, from what I've noticed, tv out by default is a lot duller/brighter/something then compared to a monitor.
you should be able to adjust this in your monitor display settings (with mine, I can switch to tv out only, or tv/monitor combo which makes it much easier for choosing games etc, just turn the monitor off when playing games).

> The TV-out does not provide sound though.

You don't say Leno :P

> You'll need to splice your audio-out signal to run to the TV as well. My setup in case
> you are curious:
*cut*
> Now sound...hehe, this was a little tricky. Sound card -> "Y" splitter -> (end 1) monitor
> speakers... (end 2) -> rca to red/white converter -> multi-input switch (red/white) ->
> VCR -> stereo (input only)
> Since the TV already gets the RF version of input, then I get sound from the monitor,
> TV, AND stereo. Psuedo-surround sound!

I can't really see the point of that myself, since the main goal is to be playing it like it were the real thing (in which case, you generally only get sound from the tv) :P

> --Edit--
> If you didn't pick up on it, the only thing you have to
> worry about is fullscreen mode. That's about it. (My
> preference anyway.)

Preference? that's not a preference, that's a requirement <img src=smilies/magbiggrin.gif>

<P ID="signature"></P>
Atma is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:07 AM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.