Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > Rom Hack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-31-2005, 09:22 AM   #1
Skidrow
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4
Default SNES pal > ntsc, 50 > 60 HZ

Can anybody tell me, how i can change the country defaults of SNES roms like NTSC or PAL. i want to change german roms into US; 50 Hz to 60 Hz



<P ID="signature"></P>
Skidrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 09:30 AM   #2
thegodofhellfire
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,295
Default Re: SNES pal > ntsc, 50 > 60 HZ

> Can anybody tell me, how i can change the country defaults
> of SNES roms like NTSC or PAL. i want to change german roms
> into US; 50 Hz to 60 Hz.

I'm afraid you can't. On the SNES, that was determined by the hardware itself. If you really want to play 50Hz ROMs at 60Hz, you can install a switch on your console, like mine. It works great, and it means that you won't have any of the sync problems associated with playing games at the wrong rate.

<P ID="signature"></P>
thegodofhellfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 09:46 AM   #3
Skidrow
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4
Default Re: SNES pal > ntsc, 50 > 60 HZ

Oh sorry, its a misunderstanding! my hardware SNES has a 50/60 HZ switch too, but what i mean is: i want to play games with emulator ZSNES and when i start game with "force NTSC" some german (i am german games don´t start. So i want to play german roms with 60 Hz. i mean it is possible to changed the 50/60HZ question while starting a rom. do you know what i mean?

<P ID="signature"></P>
Skidrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2005, 02:21 PM   #4
thegodofhellfire
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,295
Default Re: SNES pal > ntsc, 50 > 60 HZ

> do you know what i mean?

Sorry, didn't catch that post. I'm pretty sure I know what you mean. It should still be possible to emulate your German PAL ROMs at 60Hz. Certain games have protection that will detect the refresh rate of the hardware, and lock the game out if it finds a rate other than the domestic one, in use. So your German ROMs are detecting the emulated hardware running at 60Hz, and locks you out because German hardware ought to run at 50Hz.

It should be possible to strip this protection from the game with uCON64. I'm assuming a base level of experience with these things here, so just ask if this seems unclear.

1. Assuming you're on a Windows platform, download the MinGW version of the program.

2. Unzip the program to your ROMs directory, and give your target ROM a simple name (eg "smas.smc").

3. Right-click on the program, click 'Copy'. Right-click in the folder window and click 'Paste Shortcut'.

4. Right-click on your new shortcut and click 'Properties'. In the 'Shortcut' tab, find the 'Target' box. After the location of the program, type in your target ROM's name, followed by "-f" (without quotations). It should look something like:

D:\Gaming\SNES\ROMs\ucon64.exe smas.smc -f

5. Click 'OK' in the Properties window and run the shortcut.

6. Repeat steps 4 and five with the parameters "-k", and once again with "-l". (That's a lower-case 'L')

7. Try running the rom in ZSNES again, and let me know if it works.

Good luck!

<P ID="signature"></P>
thegodofhellfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2005, 06:42 PM   #5
Skidrow
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4
Default Re: SNES pal > ntsc, 50 > 60 HZ

I have all done what you say and it works great!!!!!!!!!!!!!

VERY BIG THANKS!!!!!!! <img src=smilies/liefde.gif>

:-)

<P ID="signature"></P>
Skidrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2005, 10:53 PM   #6
thegodofhellfire
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,295
Default Re: SNES pal > ntsc, 50 > 60 HZ

> I have all done what you say and it works great!!!!!!!!!!!!!
>
>
> VERY BIG THANKS!!!!!!!

Haha, glad to have been of service. Enjoy!

<P ID="signature"></P>
thegodofhellfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 06:44 PM   #7
Skidrow
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4
Default

i have to update a little bit

ucon64 is good. But it operate not with all roms. e.g. Super Mario World 2 - Yoshis Island PAL doesnt run with 60 Hz after using ucon64 ("This gamepak is not for your SNES bla....").

But there is a tool that can: SNES tool by The M.C.A.

Problem: It doesnt run on 64bit Windows so i used Dosbox (a dos emulator) to run it and it works with "Fix to NTSC". After that, i can run the PAL game with 60 Hz. I use SNES9x. If you too, do following to start every rom with 60 Hz: Set NTSC = TRUE in the [ROM] section of snes9x.conf, or use the custom rom dialog which exposes this option.

See you in 2021 XD
Skidrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:25 PM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.