Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > General Emulation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-28-2009, 03:34 AM   #21
Reaper man
Member
 
Reaper man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,409
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdev View Post
How come ZSNES seems to get layering right, but SNEmulDS doesn't?
Perhaps because SNEmulDS is not based off of ZSNES and is less accurate, mainly due to the DS's lack of processing power?
__________________
Reaper man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 04:06 AM   #22
jdev
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 144
Default

I was actually wondering about something more technically specific, but I suppose you probably wouldn't know if you aren't the programmer. I feel like I've got it half figured out in my head, in a kind of general sense, but I can't quite put it together. I'm surprised the DS doesn't have the processing power, though. I seem to remember playing a ZSNES back on like 266MHz or something (what did it take to run Quake 2?).
jdev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 04:27 AM   #23
Reaper man
Member
 
Reaper man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,409
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdev View Post
I'm surprised the DS doesn't have the processing power, though. I seem to remember playing a ZSNES back on like 266MHz or something (what did it take to run Quake 2?).
yaah and the DS has 2 ARM cores, one running at 66MHz, and the other running at 33. Also the archetecture is vastly different from x86, and x86 has the advantage of out-of-order execution (I'm not sure how much it affects emulation speed though).

so yah, the DS would get its ass spanked by a PII 233MHz CPU.
__________________
Reaper man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 03:05 PM   #24
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reaper man View Post
Perhaps because SNEmulDS is not based off of ZSNES and is less accurate, mainly due to the DS's lack of processing power?
It's because SnemulDS's layering uses the 2-D hardware and not any kind of software rendering. If it uses software rendering, the emulator would get too slow. Therefore it's having to work within the DS's 2-D hardware. Also, the reason sound isn't always right either is that the sync between the ARM9 and ARM7 cpus of the DS isn't always correct. As I understand, the main processor on the SNES and the SPC unit are normally in sync, but since emulation of the CPU is done on the ARM9 and the sound on the ARM7, it doesn't always get it quite right (and some games are really sensitive to this). Of course this adds another layer of complexity to the emulation, but if they hadn't emulated sound on the ARM7, I don't know if the emulator would be full speed or not.

I know they were trying to think of better ways to sync the two, but since development seems to have pretty much stopped, I don't know if we'll see anything better.

*edit*
Oh yeah, and speaking of Quake2...there is a Quake 2 port for the DS. :P It requires a slot-2 flashcart so it can use the extra RAM those usually contain. At some points it overpowers the DS's 3-D hardware, but it runs pretty decently most of the time. So does the Quake 1 port.
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:48 AM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.