Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > General Emulation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-26-2009, 09:43 PM   #1
benjamin319
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Default Trying to play NES games on the DSi using Acekard 2i

/

Last edited by benjamin319; 05-28-2009 at 02:43 AM. Reason: Revert
benjamin319 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 02:10 AM   #2
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default

What do you mean NES ROMs ending in .NDS? If you're just trying to load the NES games as NDS files, it's no wonder it won't work. What you want is this program (download here). Boot this application on your AceKard, then load the ROMs using it. You shouldn't have to do anything else as your AceKard supports auto DLDI patching.

Also, as far as Genesis goes I'd recommend jenesisDS. amd for SNES I'd recommend snemulDS. Keep in mind that neither are perfect yet, but they both support quite a lot of games.
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 02:33 AM   #3
benjamin319
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Hey, I'm sorry about that. The files do end in .NES. I put NES DS and the roms ending in .NES in the root of my micro SD card. I booted Acekard 2i and I can see the NESDS.exe file but nothing happens when I try to select it. I'm using a DSi as apposed to a Lite or regular DS. Should NESDS be compatible with my DSi?
Thanks for the emulator suggestions. I'll give those a try.

EDIT: I just realized [one of] my mistakes. Shouldn't NES DS be an NDS file? I have it as an exe file. I tried the newer version of jenesisDS and I was able to load the program on the DSi. It froze when I tried to load a game, but I read about that happening to other people and that the older version works well. I'll give that a try.

EDIT EDIT: Hey never mind. I got it to work. Thanks for the help though.

Last edited by benjamin319; 05-28-2009 at 05:38 AM. Reason: merge
benjamin319 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 04:40 AM   #4
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default

nesds.exe? O_o
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 02:38 AM   #5
benjamin319
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks.

Last edited by benjamin319; 05-28-2009 at 05:38 AM.
benjamin319 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 03:37 AM   #6
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default

Oh, no, you don't look stupid at any rate. Everyone has to start somewhere with this kind of thing. I was just wasn't sure what you meant, that's all.
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 04:27 AM   #7
TalkingBull
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Default

I have an AceKard 2i on my DSI and I put NESDS on it in the root with a game to test it out but when I load the nesds.nds file, it loads into a black screen with the file tree but freezes every time. All the buttons and touchscreen are unresponsive. It seems that benjamin319 got it to work but I can't seem to. Any suggestions?
TalkingBull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 02:13 PM   #8
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default

You could always try loading it using MoonShell2 or something like that. Sometimes when I have a problem with a homebrew that can help. Make sure you switch dldibody.bin in the MoonShl2 folder with the DLDI for your card though.
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 02:52 PM   #9
TalkingBull
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Default

I tried Moonshell and Moonshell 2. Moonshell doesn't work and when I use MS2, it just goes to a white screen. I think I need something totally idiot-proof here..
TalkingBull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 10:49 PM   #10
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default

It's hard for me to say what you need, as I don't have an AceKard.
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:34 AM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.