Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > Rom Hack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-05-2005, 01:33 AM   #1
scissorman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 22
Default Dear god... I've corrupted the map in FF6

I seem to have corrupted the mini map that is shown on the overworld somehow in the WoB. Anyone know how I might fix this?

<P ID="signature"></P>
scissorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2005, 01:57 AM   #2
Fla Flash
Staff (News -- Rom Hacking)
 
Fla Flash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 8,141
Default Re: Dear god... I've corrupted the map in FF6

You should be able to go to your last good save and repatch it...or start all over again if you haven't been backing up your work. Jeez, I hope you didn't lose everything.

<P ID="signature"><img src=http://www.freewebs.com/mewscorner/pika.png>
Mew's Corner</P>
Fla Flash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2005, 02:09 AM   #3
scissorman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 22
Default Re: Dear god... I've corrupted the map in FF6

Unless I have a way to take the map data and instructions and copy them from a clean ROM to the heacked one, I'd have to start all over. I guess I'd need to know where the map bytes are...

<P ID="signature"></P>
scissorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2005, 02:14 AM   #4
scissorman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 22
Default Re: Dear god... I've corrupted the map in FF6

Oops, nevermind, I have a working copy backup from 10 days ago. There's been a lot of work since then, but nothing I can't do in a couple hours.

<P ID="signature"></P>
scissorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2005, 02:15 AM   #5
JCE3000GT
Senior Member
 
JCE3000GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Little Elm, TX
Posts: 5,167
Default Re: Dear god... I've corrupted the map in FF6

> Oops, nevermind, I have a working copy backup from 10 days
> ago. There's been a lot of work since then, but nothing I
> can't do in a couple hours.

Just replace the data you've done like text, item/magic/monster/char stats, and so-forth to the old ROM so you won't lose that simple stuff.

<P ID="signature">
http://sigx.yuriy.net/link.php</a></P>
JCE3000GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2005, 03:22 AM   #6
scissorman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 22
Default Re: Dear god... I've corrupted the map in FF6

It looks like FF3Edit corrupts my ROM when it save it, even if no changes are made.

I suggest that nobody use this program.

<P ID="signature"></P>
scissorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2005, 03:29 AM   #7
Dark Knight Kain
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,278
Default Re: Dear god... I've corrupted the map in FF6

> It looks like FF3Edit corrupts my ROM when it save it, even
> if no changes are made.
> I suggest that nobody use this program.

FF3Edit has a habbit of doing that... don't use its item editors and such and you'll be fine. I used it to edit the dialogue all the time and had no problems

<P ID="signature"><img src=http://home.earthlink.net/~dragonsbrethren/images/dkkbanner.png></P>
Dark Knight Kain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2005, 03:32 AM   #8
scissorman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 22
Default Re: Dear god... I've corrupted the map in FF6

Would you know of any program that can edit espers other than FF3Edit?

<P ID="signature"></P>
scissorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2005, 05:14 AM   #9
scissorman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 22
Default Re: Dear god... I've corrupted the map in FF6

Okay, nevermind! Looks like the problems is NOT caused by FF3Edit. It's just that I had to start a new game after doing the hack stuff, or else the .smc file will go beserk when a game is loaded.

So, no problems after all! FF3Edit is pretty good (if used carefully with copious backups like any other hacking program!)

<P ID="signature"></P>
scissorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2005, 10:53 AM   #10
CROcOp
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 196
Default Re: Dear god... I've corrupted the map in FF6

> Would you know of any program that can edit espers other
> than FF3Edit?
>
How do you mean edit espers? Graphics or stats?

<P ID="signature"></P>
CROcOp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:01 PM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.