Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > General Chat > Talk of the Town

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2007, 07:00 AM   #1
you
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 109
Default I'm writing an faq!

But I don't know much about text editors that use ASCII...

So, I thought I'd see if there was anyone here who edits text, and would like to recommend an editer! (Bear in mind, my computer doesn't have Notepad)
<P ID="signature"></P>
you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 02:09 PM   #2
Reaper man
Member
 
Reaper man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,409
Default Re: I'm writing an faq!

> So, I thought I'd see if there was anyone here who edits
> text, and would like to recommend an editor! (Bear in mind,
> my computer doesn't have Notepad)

uuuh, may I ask what operating system you use? Not only would this be essential for recommending software, but if you are running windows, I'm almost 100% certain that you have Notepad on there somewhere, especially if it's 2000/XP/Vista where it's a protected operating system file

Also, this thread is more suited for tech talk.

<P ID="signature"></P>
__________________
Reaper man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2007, 09:35 PM   #3
mFC
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,178
Default Re: I'm writing an faq!

i guess notepad+ would be a suitable replacement to notepad if you can't get a copy for whatever reason.
<P ID="signature">Chris

[img]/personal/mfc/newsig.png[/img]</P>
mFC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2007, 01:15 AM   #4
you
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 109
Default Re: I'm writing an faq!

> uuuh, may I ask what operating system you use? Not only
> would this be essential for recommending software, but if
> you are running windows, I'm almost 100% certain that you
> have Notepad on there somewhere, especially if it's
> 2000/XP/Vista where it's a protected operating system file

I'm running XP, but I must have accidentally deleted notepad

Another question: how do you configure the number of characters per line in Notepad+ I've been looking around, but can't find anything

(can you tell I'm not very savvy with this stuff?
<P ID="signature"></P>
you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2007, 03:44 AM   #5
Reaper man
Member
 
Reaper man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,409
Default Re: I'm writing an faq!

> I'm running XP, but I must have accidentally deleted notepad

uuuh no, either you are mistaken, or you are lying and purposely removed it. You can't just "accidently" remove notepad.exe, it's protected. If you "accidently" delete it, it'll just pop right back up. For shits and giggles do this:

1. hold windows key + R
2. type in "notepad" and press enter
3. ????
4. Profit!

I am almost certain that notepad will pop up like usual, but enh notepad sucks anyways ;/ I use <a href=http://www.liquidninja.com/metapad/>Metapad</a> for my text editing needs.

> Another question: how do you configure the number of
> characters per line in Notepad+ I've been looking around,
> but can't find anything

I honestly don't know of any text editing programs that force word wrap on a specific character limit, if there is, I'd like to know!

> (can you tell I'm not very savvy with this stuff?

Yes.
<P ID="signature"></P>
__________________
Reaper man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2007, 04:59 AM   #6
you
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 109
Default Re: I'm writing an faq!

Thanks for your help, Reaper man. You were right about Notepad too, I must have only deleted a shortcut
you is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:13 PM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.