Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > General Emulation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-25-2009, 09:37 PM   #1
zelnaga
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Default converting nesticle save states to nestopia

I have some ~10yo save states that were created with NESticle and was wondering if they could be converted to a newer emulator - Nestopia or FCE Ultra or something. The ROM, itself, is "Dragon Warrior IV (U) [b1]", which, although it loads fine under NESticle, doesn't seem to load correctly under anything else.

Any ideas?
zelnaga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 10:11 PM   #2
Reaper man
Member
 
Reaper man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,407
Default

you do realize that [b1] means that it's a bad dump, right?

try finding the rom with [!] at the end. Something like "Dragon Warrior IV (U) [!]"
__________________
Reaper man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 10:56 PM   #3
zelnaga
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Default

It is, none-the-less, what I used with NESticle ~10 years ago. I suspect that may actually mean that I'm out of luck as I suspect that the save states for one ROM aren't going to work with another, although I did sorta come up with a work around - I saved the game normally and then was able to open that file up with FCE Ultra after copying it to the appropriate directory.

Guess I should have tried that before posting... oh well.
zelnaga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 04:44 PM   #4
Adremalech The Wroth
Senior member
 
Adremalech The Wroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Behind You
Posts: 130
Default

i think you can still use that save with another dump by renaming it...
__________________
Adremalech The Wroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 07:02 PM   #5
Lillymon
Senior Member
 
Lillymon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,379
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zelnaga View Post
It is, none-the-less, what I used with NESticle ~10 years ago.
A broken ROM for a broken emulator.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zelnaga View Post
I suspect that may actually mean that I'm out of luck as I suspect that the save states for one ROM aren't going to work with another,
That would be correct.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zelnaga View Post
although I did sorta come up with a work around - I saved the game normally and then was able to open that file up with FCE Ultra after copying it to the appropriate directory.

Guess I should have tried that before posting... oh well.
Well if that's what works for you, then great. Regular save games are typically portable across all emulators, as they're what the game itself outputs rather than the emulator. If you get further glitches though, bear in mind that it may be due to the fact that the save itself was made by a bad ROM.
__________________
Amelia Explains It All - Eventually. Probably.
Lillymon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:12 AM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.