Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > Rom Hack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-27-2004, 01:46 AM   #1
karvic
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 4
Default Advance Wars 2

I am new to hacking, all I really want to do is extract some songs. Mainly Sensei's theme and a few others. What program do I need to get in and get the song?

<P ID="signature"></P>
karvic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2004, 05:55 AM   #2
Gil-Galad
Senior Member
 
Gil-Galad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 658
Default Re: Advance Wars 2

You might want to say what system this game is from, that might help some. I've never heard of the game myself.

<P ID="signature"></P>
Gil-Galad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2004, 05:58 AM   #3
Paladyn
RIP
 
Paladyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: MD, US
Posts: 1,863
Default Re: Advance Wars 2

> You might want to say what system this game is from, that
> might help some. I've never heard of the game myself.

GameBoy Advance


<P ID="signature">Of all the words of thought or pen, the saddest are these: "what might have been".</P>
Paladyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2004, 06:02 AM   #4
Paladyn
RIP
 
Paladyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: MD, US
Posts: 1,863
Default Re: Advance Wars 2

> I am new to hacking, all I really want to do is extract some
> songs. Mainly Sensei's theme and a few others. What program
> do I need to get in and get the song?

You're going to have to step through the code with a debugger, grab all the sound instructions, and the sample data if it uses the 2 Direct Sound channels (which I think it does). Or, you can just record the whole thing to MP3 :P


<P ID="signature">Of all the words of thought or pen, the saddest are these: "what might have been".</P>
Paladyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2004, 04:11 PM   #5
karvic
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 4
Default Re: Advance Wars 2


> You're going to have to step through the code with a
> debugger, grab all the sound instructions, and the sample
> data if it uses the 2 Direct Sound channels (which I think
> it does). Or, you can just record the whole thing to MP3 :P
>
I was hoping to record it to mp3. So, I need to get a debugger,get the instructions, and the sample data. Ok, I will give it a shot.


<P ID="signature"></P>
karvic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2004, 09:14 PM   #6
Paladyn
RIP
 
Paladyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: MD, US
Posts: 1,863
Default Re: Advance Wars 2

> I was hoping to record it to mp3. So, I need to get a
> debugger,get the instructions, and the sample data. Ok, I
> will give it a shot.

Well, if you're going to MP3, then the easiest way would be just to plug your GBA into your sound card line-in port, record, then encode. The debugger method would be for creating a GBA sound format, or for creating a GBA ROM with only the code needed to reproduce the song you're looking for.


<P ID="signature">Of all the words of thought or pen, the saddest are these: "what might have been".</P>
Paladyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2004, 09:24 PM   #7
karvic
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 4
Default Re: Advance Wars 2

Man oh man, do I ever have a lot to learn about computers if I ever want to get into the business. Please bear with me here, as I am about to make an absolute fool of myself. The sound card line-in port is either on the card itself inside the box, or something I can easily access outside the box, or on the speaker. I think its in the box. So, I would have to open up the box, find the sound card, plug in the gba, and record. What kind of cord would you need to connect those? As an alternative to help, you could send me to some tutorial site that would teach me enough that I could do it myself. Thank you for any and all help.
> Well, if you're going to MP3, then the easiest way would be
> just to plug your GBA into your sound card line-in port,
> record, then encode.

<P ID="signature"></P>
karvic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2004, 09:37 PM   #8
Arson
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 102
Default Re: Advance Wars 2

The line-in port is just going to be another plugin on the back of your computer, next to the hole where you plug your speakers or microphone in. Of course, not all soundcards have them, especially if you have onboard sound, so it's possible you don't have one.

A much easier option would be to record the music in an emulator. Visual Boy Advance has the option to log whatever sound is currently playing to a wave file, then you can easily convert that wave into an mp3. (I recommend using Exact Audio Copy and the LAME encoder for doing this.) I've made a couple of soundtracks for GBA games using this method and with a little editing to trim up the ends (I usually let the song loop a couple of times and then fade the ending) they turn out quite nicely.

<P ID="signature"></P>
Arson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2004, 10:49 PM   #9
karvic
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 4
Default Re: Advance Wars 2

>
> A much easier option would be to record the music in an
> emulator. Visual Boy Advance has the option to log whatever
> sound is currently playing to a wave file, then you can
> easily convert that wave into an mp3.
Yes! Thank you so much! Whoo! Eat this, technicality!<img src=smilies/2gunsfiring_v1.gif>

<P ID="signature"></P>
karvic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:13 AM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.