Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > General Emulation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-26-2005, 12:34 AM   #1
ff_guru
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8
Default VisualBoyAdvance Optimisation

I have an old AMD-K6 running at 533Mhz with 504MB for ram. I cannot get GBA roms to run at full speed (excluding Wario Land 4 for some really strange reason), and I was wondering if anybody here knew sum tweaks to get this thing roaring! THX

-SkullFire<P ID="edit"><FONT class="small">Edited by ff_guru on 08/25/05 07:40 PM.</FONT></P>
ff_guru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2005, 01:48 AM   #2
Kitsune Sniper
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 1,661
Default Re: VisualBoyAdvance Optimisation

> I have an old AMD-K6 running at 533Mhz with 504MB for ram. I
> cannot get GBA roms to run at full speed (excluding Wario
> Land 4 for some really strange reason), and I was wondering
> if anybody here knew sum tweaks to get this thing roaring!

I don't want to sound like I'm attacking you, but you should -really- get a new CPU. That thing's way way way too old and slow.

Also, you didn't mention what video card you have. A faster card can really help speed up emulation. With some emulators anyway.
Kitsune Sniper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2005, 01:53 AM   #3
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default Re: VisualBoyAdvance Optimisation

Make sure you are not using any graphical filters...turn sound off or turn it to a lower samplerate....play with the frameskipping settings (may make gameplay choppy but could get the framerate up to something playable).
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2005, 08:02 PM   #4
RaiBlastoise
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 322
Default Re: VisualBoyAdvance Optimisation

I have a WinME computer at my house that my mother thinks has a virus because it boots so slowly and runs slowly as well.

Well, one day, I looked in the manual for our computer, went to the specs page and what do you know, the CPU is 100mHz!

My mother remains adamant in her claim of virus problems...
RaiBlastoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 09:02 PM   #5
ff_guru
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8
Default Re: VisualBoyAdvance Optimisation

> I don't want to sound like I'm attacking you, but you should
> -really- get a new CPU. That thing's way way way too old and
> slow. Also, you didn't mention what video card you have. A faster
> card can really help speed up emulation. With some emulators
> anyway.
>
I currently cannot afford a new CPU, but that has been on my priorety list recently. I have an 8MB card and I'm getting my friends 64MB sometime soon. I once had this same computer running the VBA at full speed with sound. I just can't figure out how I did it...
ff_guru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 09:19 PM   #6
Agu-Fungus
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 32
Default Re: VisualBoyAdvance Optimisation

The version I'm using, 1.7.1, worked fine with me. Newer versions ran awfully slow.
Agu-Fungus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 11:36 PM   #7
Blade556
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 803
Default Re: VisualBoyAdvance Optimisation

Here's a tip:

http://nocash.emubase.de/gba.htmClick here</a>
Blade556 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 11:38 PM   #8
Blade556
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 803
Default Re: VisualBoyAdvance Optimisation

Windows ME...100mhz...

...You tool...

Try Windows 95. You can probably find at Pirate Bay.
Blade556 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2005, 03:14 AM   #9
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default Re: VisualBoyAdvance Optimisation

> Here's a tip:
>
> Click here

Yah, that's a great guide on VisualBoyAdvance there. <img src=smilies/upeyes.gif>
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2005, 03:19 AM   #10
Cornellius
Senior Member
 
Cornellius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Québec/Canada
Posts: 2,787
Default Get a new machine *nt*

nt
__________________
My job

Industrial electronic technician
Industrial mechanic (Millwright)
Cornellius is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:07 PM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.