Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > General Emulation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-31-2007, 02:23 AM   #1
SharkESP
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 481
Default Snes Emulator ports (xbox/360)

It's my understanding that Zsnes was once ported over to the original XBox, to run SNES games stored on the xbox's hard drive. It's also my understanding that the XBox 360 is capable of emulating the original xbox (that's how it does backwards compatability, much like the ps2 -> ps1, etc)

Does it stand to say, then, that an xbox 360 could be made to run SNES games, either by its own emulator or by making it emulate an xbox using zsnes?

Has anyone ever thought of this? Is anyone already working on such a project? Is this just a bad idea that would cause Microsoft's lawyers to point the chainsaw rifle from Gears at me (because xbox arcade already does some of this)?

Thought I would throw this out there. Anyone have any info?
<P ID="signature">Peace Sells, but who's buyin? - Dave Mustaine</P>
SharkESP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2007, 04:45 AM   #2
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default Re: Snes Emulator ports (xbox/360)

>XBox 360 is
> capable of emulating the original xbox (that's how it does
> backwards compatability, much like the ps2 -> ps1, etc)

Hm, is this true? I thought that it was just some kind of compatibility 'layer' or something.
<P ID="signature">http://www.xanga.com/ZeldaDD
In the post there is a cow...</a></P>
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2007, 05:13 AM   #3
SharkESP
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 481
Default Re: Snes Emulator ports (xbox/360)

> Hm, is this true? I thought that it was just some kind of
> compatibility 'layer' or something.
>

It's my understanding that's how it does it: Software emulation. The ps2 simply had a ps1 emulator built in so that it could be backwards compatable. I think it's the same all around: no need to put two hardware sets into one board.
<P ID="signature">Peace Sells, but who's buyin? - Dave Mustaine</P>
SharkESP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2007, 07:06 AM   #4
puzzl
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,041
Default Re: Snes Emulator ports (xbox/360)


> It's my understanding that's how it does it: Software
> emulation. The ps2 simply had a ps1 emulator built in so
> that it could be backwards compatable. I think it's the same
> all around: no need to put two hardware sets into one board.

You are correct, the 360 does emulate the xbox in a sense. The problem is, it emulates the bog standard, unmodded xbox, so no chance of running anything but microsoft certified software through it.

<P ID="signature"><center>
http://spazpants.comAAAAAAAAAAAAA!</a></center></P>
puzzl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2007, 01:10 PM   #5
Lillymon
Senior Member
 
Lillymon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,379
Default Re: Snes Emulator ports (xbox/360)

> Does it stand to say, then, that an xbox 360 could be made
> to run SNES games, either by its own emulator or by making
> it emulate an xbox using zsnes?

Why on Earth would you want to do that? It'd be easier and faster to just make a native port of Snes9x, or even MESS when the emulation accuracy is good enough. Besides that, there's an on-going rewrite of ZSNES from ASM to C going on, which should make it portable enough to work on the Xbox 360.
<P ID="signature"><marquee direction="left" scrollamount="8"></marquee>
!luos ruoy tae lliw stelek ehT</P>
__________________
Amelia Explains It All - Eventually. Probably.
Lillymon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2007, 08:17 PM   #6
Scott
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 23
Default Re: Snes Emulator ports (xbox/360)

> It's my understanding that's how it does it: Software
> emulation. The ps2 simply had a ps1 emulator built in so
> that it could be backwards compatable. I think it's the same
> all around: no need to put two hardware sets into one board.

Looks like the question's been answered. It's worth mentioning, though - my understanding of PS2 architecture is that it PS1 isn't emulated: it carries PS1 hardware. Hence the lack of upscaling, or any kind of improvement save texture filtering.

But I'm sure anyone who knows better will correct me if I'm wrong.
<P ID="signature"></P>
Scott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 03:07 AM   #7
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default Re: Snes Emulator ports (xbox/360)

> Looks like the question's been answered. It's worth
> mentioning, though - my understanding of PS2 architecture is
> that it PS1 isn't emulated: it carries PS1 hardware. Hence
> the lack of upscaling, or any kind of improvement save
> texture filtering.

Yes, that's what I've always heard as well. The PS3 does not have this, (or at least has enough of it ripped out for the games to not be playable, ala Nintendo DS), so it needs emulation.
<P ID="signature">http://www.xanga.com/ZeldaDD
In the post there is a cow...</a></P>
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 03:17 AM   #8
Reaper man
Member
 
Reaper man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,409
Default Re: Snes Emulator ports (xbox/360)

> Yes, that's what I've always heard as well. The PS3 does
> not have this, (or at least has enough of it ripped out for
> the games to not be playable, ala Nintendo DS), so it needs
> emulation.

First gen PS3s had PS1/2 hardware built in but they removed it when they released it in Europe and now the newer one rely on emulation

<P ID="signature"></P>
__________________
Reaper man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 03:37 AM   #9
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default Re: Snes Emulator ports (xbox/360)

> First gen PS3s had PS1/2 hardware built in but they removed
> it when they released it in Europe and now the newer one
> rely on emulation

Aaaah, that's right. Thanks for the correction.
<P ID="signature">http://www.xanga.com/ZeldaDD
In the post there is a cow...</a></P>
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 09:40 AM   #10
Lillymon
Senior Member
 
Lillymon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,379
Default Re: Snes Emulator ports (xbox/360)

> First gen PS3s had PS1/2 hardware built in but they removed
> it when they released it in Europe and now the newer one
> rely on emulation

Actually, from what I remember, the first gen PS3s had the combined EE+GS (same as found in the slim PS2) but not any PS1 hardware. The PS1 is weak enough that accurate emulation on the PS3 wouldn't be too hard. The PS2 is more challenging.
<P ID="signature"><marquee direction="left" scrollamount="8"></marquee>
!luos ruoy tae lliw stelek ehT</P>
__________________
Amelia Explains It All - Eventually. Probably.
Lillymon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:57 AM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.