Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > Emulation Talk > General Emulation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-03-2004, 09:43 PM   #1
Voltron
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 4
Default SNES emulation driving me NUTS

Each and every single time I load save-states into either my ZSNES or SNES9XW emulator for the game Paladin's quest, all save-games that I save normally through the game's save feature are ERASED!!! This happens absolutely absolutely <h1>***<u>ABSOLUTELY</u>***</h1> each and EVERY single time I load a save STATE instead of a regularly-saved save GAME.

I am getting sick and tired and sick and tired and sick and tired of my games being erased like this. It happens with BOTH of the currently best-available SNES emulators out there. HOW do I STOP this??? <img src=smilies/banghead.gif>


--V


<P ID="signature"></P>
Voltron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 03:48 AM   #2
phonymike
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 278
Default Re: SNES emulation driving me NUTS

if you're gonna be using savestates and want your original saveram, then duplicate your original .srm for later use, or make a savestate of your game, then use other savestates, then load your original savestate.

when you load a savestate, it fills all the ram (except sram) with the previous contents. if you then save, this game then saves all the save data from the savestate into sram. just a guess.

<P ID="signature">immortality</P>
phonymike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 10:47 AM   #3
KiluAlmighty
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 120
Default Re: SNES emulation driving me NUTS

In Snes9x it seems that the savestate contains the data for sram saves aswell. So, if you have saved on sram and then make savestate, play for a while saving only to sram, and then later load up your savestate, the sram resets to the sram save you had when you saved the state.

Does that make sense? I'm rather bad at explaining things.

Oh, and I'm not an authority, just speaking from my own experience.

I was playing Soul Blazer and had a sram save from level 2. Then I made a save state as well in level 2. Then I played hours and hours with sram saves only. I think I was about level 19 maybe, and I suddenly needed to go out. I started to make a savestate because regular save point was not near, but accidentally loaded the state I had made while on level 2. I thought that no sweat, I still have the sram save... no. The sram save had reseted itself to my level 2 sram save as well. I was pissed.

But it's better to pissed off than pissed on.

/rant

<P ID="signature"><marquee direction=left scrollamount=2><img src=http://personal.inet.fi/musiikki/mika/fatso.gif></marquee>
</P>
KiluAlmighty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 09:16 PM   #4
Disch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 4,387
Default Re: SNES emulation driving me NUTS

> Each and every single time I load save-states into either my
> ZSNES or SNES9XW emulator for the game Paladin's quest, all
> save-games that I save normally through the game's save
> feature are ERASED!!!

Savestates are a snapshot of all system RAM and registers. That includes cartridge SRAM.

When you load a savestate... the currently loaded SRAM is discarded (along with all the other RAM) and replaced with how the SRAM was at the time the state was saved. Then when you exit the emulator or save your game or whenever... your .srm SRAM file is erased and replaced with the SRAM currently loaded (which would be the SRAM from the savestate).

It's not just SNES emulators... it's everything. There's no way around it... savestates have to take a snapshot of all that RAM or they just won't work.

The solution: Don't use .srm files and savestates at the same time. .srms work fine if you NEVER use savestates... but if you use a savestate for anything, you're better off just sticking with savestates for everything and never relying on .srm files.

Do what I do and just play the game normally... and save states only when you want to quit the game, and load when you want to pick it back up. Reseting and saving your game will work normally if you do it this way. You can jump to another savestate slot if you want to use the states to cheat or something.

<P ID="signature"></P>
Disch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2004, 01:21 AM   #5
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default Re: SNES emulation driving me NUTS

> Savestates are a snapshot of all system RAM and registers.
> That includes cartridge SRAM.
> When you load a savestate... the currently loaded SRAM is
> discarded (along with all the other RAM) and replaced with
how the SRAM was at the time the state was saved. Then when
> you exit the emulator or save your game or whenever... your
> .srm SRAM file is erased and replaced with the SRAM
> currently loaded

I don't think I have this problem though...is it because I have SRAM check and save turned on in Zsnes? (although I think that just saves the SRAM when it is saved and not when the emulator closes...hmmm...)

Perhaps I just haven't noticed the problem before? I dunno...my fragile brain is becoming confused.<img src=smilies/banghead.gif>

<P ID="signature">http://www.xanga.com/ZeldaDD</a></P>
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2004, 06:02 AM   #6
Disch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 4,387
Default Re: SNES emulation driving me NUTS

On second thought... I remember it not behaving like I said for Rockman and Forte. No matter how you handled savestates and stuff... it never seemed to forget how many CDs you found unless you manually deleted the .srm file. I remember that because I purposely saved a state with a clean srm file so that I could load it when I wanted to start over... but when I loaded it, it still remembered all my CDs.

Perhaps it works a bit differently for the SNES? I don't see how though... but I guess I just don't know enough about SNES.

<P ID="signature"></P>
Disch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:15 PM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.