Zophar's Message Domain

Go Back   Zophar's Message Domain > General Chat > Talk of the Town

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-28-2005, 06:20 AM   #1
RaiBlastoise
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 322
Default I think NESticle was about to ruin a laptop.

So here i am, literally seconds ago, and I decided, that, since NESticle runs on my home XP computer, and Sonic's sister's laptop was also running XP, I might try and run it on the laptop. Now this is the version (I think x.xx) which uses the DOS4GW, and can't be lower that about three folders from the desktop because the DOS4GW filename path is too long. Also, I've noticed that NESticle usually does something wrong on most XP boxes.
But since it worked on mine, I decided I'd give it a try.
So here I am, sitting down to romhack River City Ransom, so I run Nesticle, and the screen goes black. Well, this always happens when it's adjusting the resolution anyway. So I wait. Then after about 15 seconds, I think that the computer may have crashed/program may have crashed/Ctrl-Alt-Delete necessary. So I wait a few more seconds, hoping that, just maybe, the ROM would load. And suddenly, the screen starts going from black slowly towards grey. Now this did not look like an ordinary color transition, for one, that would not have happened, and for two, something just didn't look right.
And I notice, "Hrmm... something's odd about these pixels."

And then I think, "Oh no! voltage overload!", so I turn off the laptop by holding down the power button, which in retrospect was not a very bright idea, considering as I was running both NESticle and the ROM from my removable USB hard drive (at least there were no write operations going on.)

So tell me, is NESticle really harmful to laptop LCD screens, and why?
<P ID="signature"></P>
RaiBlastoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2005, 06:38 AM   #2
Lenophis
Senior Member
 
Lenophis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,386
Default Re: I think NESticle was about to ruin a laptop.

<blockquote><font class="small">In reply to:</font><hr>

So tell me, is NESticle really harmful to laptop LCD screens, and why?

<hr></blockquote>
The gods are punishing you for using such a vile piece of shit. If you can run XP, you have a good enough machine to run an emulator about 500 times better than NESticle. Use something better.

*laugh track starts*
<P ID="signature"><center><img src=http://leno.hypher.net/images/slick.png border=0 title="How Slick are you?">
Slickness factor of 10.</center></P>
__________________
Lenophis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2005, 07:12 AM   #3
The 9th Sage
Senior Member
 
The 9th Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NY State in the US
Posts: 17,439
Default Re: I think NESticle was about to ruin a laptop.

> So tell me, is NESticle really harmful to laptop LCD
> screens, and why?

More than likely the LCD just didn't like whatever resolution Nesticle was handing it. It shouldn't be a problem. I don't know what voltage has to do with it. >_>

And yes, use something better than Nesticle, for the love of all that is holy.

<P ID="signature">http://www.xanga.com/ZeldaDD


Insert some funny quote or something here.</a></P>
__________________
Just can't wait to bomb some Dodongos.
---
http://www.xanga.com/zeldadd

Twitter
The 9th Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2005, 12:17 PM   #4
Fla Flash
Staff (News -- Rom Hacking)
 
Fla Flash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 8,141
Default Re: I think NESticle was about to ruin a laptop.

Unless you're running a laptop that is a pre Pentium II class, use something better. For the love of god, man! ..

This brought to you by one who has an old 486DX Toshiba laptop that is also a giant gameboy (there's nothing on it but an old version of ZSnes, NESticle, and a buttload of games)....I'd never put NESticle on a newer computer...
<P ID="signature"><img src=http://www.freewebs.com/mewscorner/electricchair.png>
Mew's Corner-A New Form of Torture</P>
Fla Flash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2005, 03:18 PM   #5
RaiBlastoise
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 322
Default Re: I think NESticle was about to ruin a laptop.

Yes, NEStopia is my emulator of choice. However, as you may have read, I said that I was sitting down to romhack River City Ransom, implying that I was going to use NESticle's real-time graphics editor. That is the only reason that I use NESticle at all (and my old project folders all have a copy in them because it was my first emulator.)
<P ID="signature"></P>
RaiBlastoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2005, 07:40 PM   #6
GhettoFabulous
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 277
Default Re: I think NESticle was about to ruin a laptop.

> This brought to you by one who has an old 486DX Toshiba
> laptop that is also a giant gameboy (there's nothing on it
> but an old version of ZSnes, NESticle, and a buttload of
> games)....I'd never put NESticle on a newer computer...
>

NESticle was one of the best NES emulators for its time. Although it's abandoned now, it was frequently updated, supported a lot of mappers, had a built-in palette editor, save states, screenshots, netplay and joystick support.
<P ID="signature"></P>
GhettoFabulous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2005, 11:04 PM   #7
packardmelan
Senior Member
 
packardmelan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 707
Default Re: I think NESticle was about to ruin a laptop.

What bothers me about all of this is you're talking about using Nesticle for DOS, which uses VESA for its display modes. The drivers on the laptop might not support VESA properly - and, as everyone else suggested, probably didn't display the default 320x240 resolution Nesticle uses. In so far as I remember.

That said, Nesticle does have a Windows version. It's older than the x.xx version, obviously, but that ought to work for what you need, if you have to use it on a laptop.
<P ID="signature">http://www.sloganizer.net/en/</a></P>
__________________
...a man's reach should exceed his grasp, or what's a heaven for? -- Robert Browning
packardmelan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2005, 11:46 PM   #8
Kitsune Sniper
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 1,661
Default Re: I think NESticle was about to ruin a laptop.

> That said, Nesticle does have a Windows version. It's older
> than the x.xx version, obviously, but that ought to work for
> what you need, if you have to use it on a laptop.

It's broken... why, exactly, did it not output sound correctly? I recall it not outputting at least one of the sound channels...
<P ID="signature"></P>
Kitsune Sniper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2005, 05:06 AM   #9
soniczip
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 782
Default Re: I think NESticle was about to ruin a laptop.

> So here i am, literally seconds ago, and I decided, that,
> since NESticle runs on my home XP computer, and Sonic's
> sister's laptop was also running XP, I might try and run it
> on the laptop.

Next time, don't run TESticle.
<P ID="signature">I am the law. ~ Warden of Marshwood Hill.
</P>
soniczip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 12:31 AM   #10
hcs
Senior Member
 
hcs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: California
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: I think NESticle was about to ruin a laptop.

My laptop used to do that screwy thing you mention every once in a while, when changing resolution. Then the RAM died (or so the beeps tell me).
<P ID="signature"></P>
hcs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:50 PM.

Contact Us - Zophar's Domain - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.