Zophar's Message Domain

Zophar's Message Domain (http://www.zophar.net/forums/index.php)
-   General Emulation (http://www.zophar.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   PSX emulation (http://www.zophar.net/forums/showthread.php?t=2117)

idownloadroms 08-11-2004 09:33 PM

PSX emulation
 
Does it take more or less power to emulate PSX than it does N64? (For Graphics and Processing Power)

The reason for this question is I'm thinking of playing Chrono Cross using an emulator and am wondering if Integrated Graphics cut it, even with a 2.6ghz processor.

I have gotten N64 games such as, Super Mario 64 and Paper Mario to run relatively smoothly. So most first-gen (emulates perfect) to some last-gen games (emulates with 60fps with hiccups that can drop to 5fps) for N64 run ok.


<P ID="signature"></P>

puzzl 08-11-2004 09:41 PM

Re: PSX emulation
 
You should have no problem emulating the playstation.

<P ID="signature"><hr>
<a href=http://mute-net.sourceforge.net>나는 너를 죽일 것이다.</a> <-- use it
</P>

Lillymon 08-12-2004 07:59 AM

Re: PSX emulation
 
> Does it take more or less power to emulate PSX than it does
> N64? (For Graphics and Processing Power)

Different types of emulation. PlayStation emulators are mostly LLE (low level emulation) which can be slow, but is more accurate. Nintendo 64 emulators are mostly HLE (high level emulation) which is faster, but less accurate.

Since the PlayStation is less powerful, this usually isn't noticed much and the requirements for emulation are far below the system you have.

<P ID="signature"><marquee direction=left scrollamount=8><img src=http://home.graffiti.net/lillymon:graffiti.net/images/keletav.gif></marquee>
!luos ruoy tae lliw stelek ehT</P>

The 9th Sage 08-14-2004 12:24 AM

Re: PSX emulation
 
> The reason for this question is I'm thinking of playing
> Chrono Cross using an emulator and am wondering if
> Integrated Graphics cut it, even with a 2.6ghz processor.

I personally can't get Chrono Cross to emulate right ...during battles when I bring up the item dialog, Element dialog, etc, it just craps out and becomes extremely slow. The rest of it is fine though, even with a 2xSAI filter turned on, in fact it ran too fast at first until I clipped the frame rate in Pete's Plug-in.

<P ID="signature">http://www.xanga.com/ZeldaDDhttp://www.angelfire.com/realm2/zdd2...nchi_Xanga.txt</a></P>

Bodomi 08-23-2004 06:24 AM

Re: PSX emulation
 
That 'dialog crap out' seems to be some kind of bug in the latest version of ePSXe, it works fine in ePSXe 1.5.2.

<P ID="signature"></P>

Lillymon 08-23-2004 06:29 AM

Re: PSX emulation
 
> That 'dialog crap out' seems to be some kind of bug in the
> latest version of ePSXe, it works fine in ePSXe 1.5.2.

Really? I've played Chrono Cross on ePSXe 1.6.0 and noticed no slowdown at all. There are a few other problems (lighting seems a little screwy with Pete's OpenGL and it still sometimes freezes on the status menu) but not slowdown.

<P ID="signature"><marquee direction=left scrollamount=8><img src=http://home.graffiti.net/lillymon:graffiti.net/images/keletav.gif></marquee>
!luos ruoy tae lliw stelek ehT</P>

Bodomi 08-23-2004 06:36 AM

Re: PSX emulation
 
Hmm... Could be problem with certain computer setups then, Chrono Cross does slow down by much on my computer if I open the element grid in that game using ePSXe 1.6.0. (With any grapics plugin)

<P ID="signature"></P>

idownloadroms 08-24-2004 09:04 PM

Re: PSX emulation
 
I can't even get Chrono Cross to run on ePSXe 1.6. It seems to run fine on 1.5.2 though.

<P ID="signature"></P>

Lillymon 08-25-2004 06:12 PM

Re: PSX emulation
 
> I can't even get Chrono Cross to run on ePSXe 1.6. It seems
> to run fine on 1.5.2 though.

It did require a few tweaks to run well. Like the '-noauto' switch on the command line and the 'Odd/even bit hack' in Pete's/P.E.Op.S GPU plugins (I know the plugins say it's only required for ePSXe 1.5.2 and earlier, they're wrong).

I also set off-screen drawing to 1 (Minimum) with the usual Alpha MultiPass and Advanced Blending on just to be on the safe side (actually, Alpha MultiPass could be causing those weird lighting problems, I'll need to investigate that).

For P.E.Op.S DSound, I set the usual SPUasync, PSX Reverb and Cubic Interpolation. Just make sure you don't enable SPU IRQ, Chrono Cross is one of the few games that it screws up.

My CD plugin settings don't matter since I only play Chrono Cross using a downloaded BIN+CUE rip.

<P ID="signature"><marquee direction=left scrollamount=8><img src=http://home.graffiti.net/lillymon:graffiti.net/images/keletav.gif></marquee>
!luos ruoy tae lliw stelek ehT</P>

The 9th Sage 08-25-2004 07:49 PM

Re: PSX emulation
 
> It did require a few tweaks to run well.

I guess that's what I should do since it seems not everyone is having this problem. Heh, back to the drawing board as it were. <img src=smilies/magbiggrin.gif>

<P ID="signature">http://www.xanga.com/ZeldaDDhttp://i.xanga.com/ZeldaDD/milkkoma.png

My Weblog...the official distributor of LonLon Milk in New York.
</a></P>


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:46 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.