Zophar's Message Domain

Zophar's Message Domain (http://www.zophar.net/forums/index.php)
-   General Emulation (http://www.zophar.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   PlayStation 2 emulator (http://www.zophar.net/forums/showthread.php?t=9716)

symbolic X 10-01-2008 04:09 AM

PlayStation 2 emulator
 
May I ask, I wonder if there is any fast PS 2 emulator that's out there? I tried running an ISO on PCSX2 under a 2GHz AMD and it was really slow. I tried the RAM upgrade and even a 3GHz Intel - still no reasonable result.

If yall don't know anything, it's no problem. I ask this out of curiosity.

The 9th Sage 10-01-2008 04:56 AM

I'm not really sure of an answer, but PCSX2 apparently runs ok if you have a computer with several cores. There are plug-ins that take advantage of it.

I'd have tested some stuff myself, but I KNOW my computer isn't up to that task. ;)

symbolic X 10-01-2008 02:30 PM

It's unfortunate that both of my CPU's have only one core. I'll look for the money to get a 2-core or quad-core soon, since they're impacting the market. Thanx so far =)

retroguiden 10-01-2008 08:50 PM

Yes, as far as I understand, the cpu and memory is more important than your graphics card. You seem to have a lot of memory so I suggest you upgrade your cpu next.

symbolic X 10-01-2008 09:08 PM

Now on the other hand, I run PSX games with ease. I guess because it was because of less data/memory. Maybe more than that.

The 9th Sage 10-02-2008 04:20 AM

Well, the original PSX is far less...beefy...of a machine than the PS2.

MarioMan94 10-19-2008 07:00 AM

yeah. pcsx2 just won't run smoothly on a single core. It NEEDS a dual core or quad to get even in the 30-40 fps range. Recommended at least 2.8ghz.

oh, and hi. im new here :)

retroguiden 10-28-2008 06:01 PM

The last thing I read is that it don't utilize quad-cores yet. So dual core would be the choice (atm anyway), although if you've got the cash a quad core isn't a bad buy. Also it seems to run a bit faster on Intel cpu's.

Lillymon 10-28-2008 10:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by retroguiden (Post 83817)
Also it seems to run a bit faster on Intel cpu's.

Just about everything does. Intel are well ahead in the speed race now. After giving up on the colossal mistake that was NetBurst, they've been consistently holding the advantage over AMD.

retroguiden 11-04-2008 01:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lillymon (Post 83822)
Just about everything does. Intel are well ahead in the speed race now. After giving up on the colossal mistake that was NetBurst, they've been consistently holding the advantage over AMD.

Well, for emulation I would choose Intel, but when it comes to PC gaming it's a much closer race as that is the area AMD has been concentrating on.


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:54 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.