Zophar's Message Domain

Zophar's Message Domain (http://www.zophar.net/forums/index.php)
-   General Emulation (http://www.zophar.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   ePSXe Problem (http://www.zophar.net/forums/showthread.php?t=2288)

Magi-Warrior 09-01-2004 08:46 PM

Re: ePSXe Problem
 
> Ugh, internal on-board Intel Video Hardware...I had one of
> those and came to the conclusion that it sucked.


Man im startin to think a new emulator is the best solution.....course the problem epsxe is the best an im not sure if other emulators will allow me to play from the cdrom


<P ID="signature"></P>

Lillymon 09-01-2004 11:04 PM

Re: ePSXe Problem
 
> Furthermore, running Playstation games with software-based
> rendering, provided you have the CPU horsepower to do so, is
> literally better than using a plugin that offloads drawing onto your
> own video card, because certain games that use framebuffer
> effects.

Not all games use framebuffer effects though. Out of the games have I have, only a few (maybe three or four, only two of which I've played for any serious length of time) use any framebuffer effects. Those can get seriously slow (particularly Final Fantasy VII) but all other games run signifigantly faster with hardware rendering. For Tales of Phantasia, I can use workarounds (mixed software frambuffer) in Pete's OpenGL plugin to get good speed with the framebuffer effects.

Of course, for all but a few games, you could just disable framebuffer rendering altogether. For all but Tales of Phantasia (which, as you see, has been dealt with) the games are perfectly playable without any framebuffer effects.

<P ID="signature"><marquee direction=left scrollamount=8><img src=http://home.graffiti.net/lillymon:graffiti.net/images/keletav.gif></marquee>
!luos ruoy tae lliw stelek ehT</P>

Reaper man 09-02-2004 01:36 AM

Re: ePSXe Problem
 
> Man im startin to think a new emulator is the best
> solution.....course the problem epsxe is the best an im not
> sure if other emulators will allow me to play from the cdrom


after reading through the thread again, I've come to conclude that you just need to burn your CDs into images and play those and see if you have any problems

do a search for isobuster. Once you have that open it up and select the CD drive that your game is on. Right click on "CD" and select burn image --> raw, name your image and click OK (this info isn't very accurate... just going off of the top of my head here)

also if it gives you cannot read sector errors, your CD is borked and you will need to buff/replace them


<P ID="signature"><center>
sig not found...</center></P>

MegaManJuno 09-02-2004 02:08 AM

Re: ePSXe Problem
 
Yeah, I'm kinda leaning towards this notion as well. Ran a test myself here and tried to play Thunderforce 5 with the original CD... it was slow as all hell and the sound stuttered out the ass no matter what settings I changed. I then ripped the image with Alcohol and loaded it up on its virtual drive which, expectedly, ran pretty smooth. I don't know if he's tried this himself, but I did suggest it a couple days ago...

<P ID="signature"></P>

Magi-Warrior 09-02-2004 06:57 AM

Re: ePSXe Problem
 
ill try that out.....but jus curious.....will it be able to rip out iso from burned discs....i have a couple that are burned which have played fine.....but real or burned the same problem persists.

<P ID="signature"></P>

KiluAlmighty 09-02-2004 10:16 AM

Re: ePSXe Problem
 
> Incorrect, unless you can come up with some kind of
> compatibility data to back up your claims.

So, if you are such an expert on the matter, why don't you help the man in trouble? I bet your tech-talk helps a lot. As for 'backing up my claims', nope, no data, just talking from my own experience. Running Vagrant Story for example with soft plugin didn't work for me very well, but changing to OGL it worked fine, and not to mention, it looks so much better.

As for suggestions on playing from image instead of CD... some games seem to have some XA sound problems when playing from image. For these games mounted image has been the best solution for me.

Again, from my own experience.

<P ID="signature"><marquee direction=left scrollamount=2><img src=http://personal.inet.fi/musiikki/mika/fatso.gif></marquee>
</P>

MooglyGuy 09-02-2004 12:27 PM

Re: ePSXe Problem
 
> So, if you are such an expert on the matter, why don't you
> help the man in trouble? I bet your tech-talk helps a lot.

I called your bluff, proved altogether that your claim was wrong, and now you're simply getting bitter and sarcastic. Yep, I figured that would happen.

<P ID="signature">http://www.zophar.net/personal/mooglyguy/new_jersey.gif</P>

MooglyGuy 09-02-2004 12:35 PM

Re: ePSXe Problem
 
> If this GTE does this transformation, shouldn't it be
> calculating a Z-coordinate somewhere for proper placement
> when the resulting polygon is written to the
> framebuffer/screen?

Nope, when the GTE applies the proper projection to the polygons, you end up getting screen coordinates that correspond to the polygon's coordinates in 3D space - i.e., if you were to look at it from the standard viewpoint, the polygons would look exactly the same, but supposing you then went and looked at it from the side, one's coordinates would be projected directly onto the screen plane, the other would still be in threespace.

> I guess my real question would then be, if it has no
> Z-coord. data for proper depth placement, how do they handle
> that on the PS1? And better yet, how is that
> transfered/handled when using a 3D API such as D3D/OGL?

The game engine applies the transformations and projections to all of the polygons currently in view, then it draws them from the farthest original coordinates to the closest - this is called the painter's algorithm, in that even if you're drawing 3D polygons, as long as you have everything sorted, it will all end up looking okay. Think of it this way - if you have one hand two feet in front of you, then your other hand slightly blocking your view of the other hand, and then you have a piece of cardboard slightly blocking your view of both, if you were to "draw" the hands and piece of cardboard from farthest away to closest, you would have the far hand, then the closer hand would be drawn over the far hand, partially obstructing it as expected, then the piece of cardboard would be drawn, then obstructing both.

<P ID="signature">http://www.zophar.net/personal/mooglyguy/new_jersey.gif</P>

KiluAlmighty 09-02-2004 07:06 PM

Re: ePSXe Problem
 
> I called your bluff, proved altogether that your claim was
> wrong, and now you're simply getting bitter and sarcastic.
> Yep, I figured that would happen.
>
What bluff? I never claimed to know anything about the hardware of psx. If something works for me, I can suggest it for someone else. I see nothing wrong with that. And I wasn't being sarcastic either. If you know your shit, and it seems that you do, you could use some of the vast knowledge to help someone out.

<P ID="signature"><marquee direction=left scrollamount=2><img src=http://personal.inet.fi/musiikki/mika/fatso.gif></marquee>
</P>

MegaManJuno 09-02-2004 08:11 PM

Re: ePSXe Problem
 
<blockquote><font class="small">In reply to:</font><hr>

Nope, when the GTE applies the proper projection to the polygons, you end up getting screen coordinates that correspond to the polygon's coordinates in 3D space - i.e., if you were to look at it from the standard viewpoint, the polygons would look exactly the same, but supposing you then went and looked at it from the side, one's coordinates would be projected directly onto the screen plane, the other would still be in threespace.

<hr></blockquote>

So, if I follow correctly, its like the difference between actually holding an apple in one hand and a photo of an apple in the other? Obviously the real apple is still "3D" when you rotate it to the side, yet the photo would (like a piece of paper) essentially look like a straight line from the side.

<blockquote><font class="small">In reply to:</font><hr>

The game engine applies the transformations and projections to all of the polygons currently in view, then it draws them from the farthest original coordinates to the closest - this is called the painter's algorithm, in that even if you're drawing 3D polygons, as long as you have everything sorted, it will all end up looking okay. Think of it this way - if you have one hand two feet in front of you, then your other hand slightly blocking your view of the other hand, and then you have a piece of cardboard slightly blocking your view of both, if you were to "draw" the hands and piece of cardboard from farthest away to closest, you would have the far hand, then the closer hand would be drawn over the far hand, partially obstructing it as expected, then the piece of cardboard would be drawn, then obstructing both.

<hr></blockquote>

OK, I follow all of that... although, I am still unsure where this ordering information is actually coming from? Are the polys in a normal x,y,z coord format before the GTE does the transformation? Also, is it still drawing all faces of the poly, or only the ones that would be visible from the current angle? I assume by your explanation that it does not take into account culling for objects obstructed by other objects, but I could see it only dealing with the faces of each individual object that it needed to worry about possibly being visible at the time.

Thanks Moogle, this is proving to be quite informative... definitely much better than the cold, dry "can't be done, no z-data" type of replies I've seen around elsewhere.

<P ID="signature"></P>


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:20 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.