Zophar's Message Domain

Zophar's Message Domain (http://www.zophar.net/forums/index.php)
-   General Emulation (http://www.zophar.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   VBA Sound Trouble (http://www.zophar.net/forums/showthread.php?t=8641)

Essee 05-26-2007 09:12 AM

VBA Sound Trouble
 
I have been using Visual Boy Advance 1.7.2 for a long time, and it has worked beautifully in all respects (zero slowdown, perfect emulation of graphics and sound)-- until a week or two ago. So! Originally the sound was working perfectly. Even though I made NO software setting or hardware changes between when I had no problems and now, I have started getting fuzzy sound for periods of about 1-3 seconds. I think the period between fuzzings is usually about 15 seconds, but it varies a bit. The emulation speed shown also seems to drop from 99/100% to 96 AFTER it happens each time, although there doesn't seem to be a change in the speed of the gameplay itself. The game I'm playing has no effect; games that used to play fine months or even a week before this started happening all have this problem now. None of the other programs on my computer, even other emulators, are having this problem in the least, either, so I think something is now going wrong within my emulator.

I have already tried playing with several settings in an attempt to get this to work (mostly in the sound settings, although I did turn off my chosen graphics filter at least once), but no success. I scanned my computer (even though I was sure there wouldn't be anything to find) and I don't have some random virus/spyware/adware that ONLY targets VBA. Being an audiophile (and frequently choosing my games FOR their music/sound), this is becoming VERY frustrating for me. I would try redownloading the emulator except A) I am on dial-up, and more importantly B) I don't want to risk accidentally losing any of my saves, because I recall I attempted to move ZSNES to a different directory once, with all my saves in that folder, and when I started a game that is VERY difficult to restore progress from, even savestates, it had overwritten my original save with a blank one as if it couldn't see the save file I had. I'd prefer not to take my chances again.

Does anyone have any clues as to the problem, or advice on how to fix it, short of a reinstall? I can post my specs if anyone wants, but since they have not changed between the time it was working and now, I don't think those will help. Thanks in advance!
<P ID="signature"></P>

Essee 06-03-2007 06:56 PM

Re: VBA Sound Trouble
 
I hate to bump my post, but I can't edit it at this point. Sorry!
Changing the frameskip from 0 to 1 (keep in mind, VBA was working FINE before on 0 frameskip) seems to have fixed the sound problem, but because this runs the game at 30 FPS instead of 60, I don't like the choppiness that is produced. I tried changing the frameskip back to 0 to see if simply having changed it would do the trick, but the problem came back. Does anyone have a solution to this that would allow me to run my games at 60 FPS, as I used to? I would very much appreciate any reply at this point, even if it's a wild guess... It's been driving me nuts. ><
<P ID="signature"></P>

blargg 06-04-2007 01:35 AM

Re: VBA Sound Trouble
 
Sounds like your computer may have gotten slower in the last few weeks. Just a guess.
<P ID="signature"></P>

The 9th Sage 06-04-2007 02:30 AM

Re: VBA Sound Trouble
 
> but the problem came
> back. Does anyone have a solution to this that would allow
> me to run my games at 60 FPS, as I used to? I would very
> much appreciate any reply at this point, even if it's a wild
> guess... It's been driving me nuts. ><

I don't know...VBA gives me weird problems like that sometimes. I can't find how it was set or why it used to work fine for me before. I think maybe I was using a different build.

Anyway, have you tried any of the VBA-S releases? It's possible they would work better for you.
<P ID="signature">http://www.xanga.com/ZeldaDDhttp://xc4.xanga.com/a19a76323353179.../z54103151.png
In the post there is a cow...</a></P>

Sliver X 06-04-2007 05:08 AM

Re: VBA Sound Trouble
 
Disable Vsync.

If that doesn't work, try increasing the sound buffer by small increments until it stops.

It sounds like #1, though; I had that problem all the time with both VBA and FCEU with vysnc.
<P ID="signature"></P>

Essee 06-04-2007 05:56 AM

Re: VBA Sound Trouble
 
> Disable Vsync.
> If that doesn't work, try increasing the sound buffer by
> small increments until it stops.
> It sounds like #1, though; I had that problem all the time
> with both VBA and FCEU with vysnc.

Tried disabling Vsync, that (unfortunately!) doesn't seem to have fixed the problem. Sliver X, is the sound buffer an option within VBA? If so, is it within 1.7.2 (the latest non-beta version, I believe)? I searched all options and could not find it.

The 9th Sage, thanks for the suggestion about VBA-S. I will give that a shot as well, after trying (if I can) the sound buffer option. It doesn't look like it will be a full fix, though, since from what I just read (after I searched for it) GB/GBC emulation is not working as well as it did on the official release.

As for Blargg, no offense, but... how exactly would my computer have gotten slower for no apparent reason recently? I don't think that happens out of the blue, at least...
<P ID="signature"></P>

Mikey 06-04-2007 08:12 PM

Re: VBA Sound Trouble
 
It could be a configuration problem. Have you tried deleting vba.ini? The emulator will automatically create a new one with default settings. It might help.
<P ID="signature"></P>

SirDaShadow 06-04-2007 10:23 PM

Re: VBA Sound Trouble
 
> I don't think that happens out of the blue, at least...
>
Check for viruses and spyware...also have you installed something recently? check your processes....right click on the toolbar at the bottom and select task manager, then processes
<P ID="signature"></P>

Essee 06-05-2007 04:40 AM

Re: VBA Sound Trouble
 
> Check for viruses and spyware...also have you installed
> something recently? check your processes....right click on
> the toolbar at the bottom and select task manager, then
> processes

I can quote myself, here: "I scanned my computer (even though I was sure there wouldn't be anything to find) and I don't have some random virus/spyware/adware that ONLY targets VBA." And no, I haven't installed anything recently-- in fact, I don't remember even changing ANY settings on ANYTHING lately, that's what's so weird about this. I know that most people aren't knowledgable about viruses or spy/adware (particularly females!), but thankfully that was one of the first couple things I checked after spending forever searching my settings. Would be a good suggestion if I hadn't beaten you to it, though. =)

>It could be a configuration problem. Have you tried deleting
>vba.ini? The emulator will automatically create a new one with
>default settings. It might help.

As I said, I didn't expect my settings were the problem, since I haven't changed them, but I did give what you said a shot anyway... Changed all my settings back to roughly what they were (since I don't like at least half of the default settings), though the INI file was a lot smaller than what I used to have for some reason, waited... It almost sounded like it might have fixed it, but then it popped back up again. Arrrgh! Thanks for the suggestion though. =D
<P ID="signature"></P>

Sliver X 06-06-2007 10:36 AM

Re: VBA Sound Trouble
 
Sorry for the lateness, I've been heavily involved with an NES translation lately.

VBA doesn't allow you change the buffer size, apparently. One thing you may want to try is applying "Use Old Synchronization" for the sound engine.

Let me know if that helps.
<P ID="signature"></P>

shawn 06-06-2007 01:26 PM

Re: VBA Sound Trouble
 
> (particularly females!)


Then you must stay away from Lillymon, she'll make you look like her bitch since she's smarter then most men I know. Keep your sexist remarks in the 50's where they belong. Thank you come again. <img src=smilies/cwm11.gif>
<P ID="signature">Get off your ass and do it because it isn't going to happen on it's own no matter how much you wish it would.</P>

Reaper man 06-06-2007 01:55 PM

Re: VBA Sound Trouble
 
> Then you must stay away from Lillymon, she'll make you look
> like her bitch since she's smarter then most men I know.
> Keep your sexist remarks in the 50's where they belong.
> Thank you come again.

spoiler: She <a href=http://www.zophar.net/wwwthreads/showprofile.php?Cat=&User=Essee&Number=296327&Boar d=general&what=showflat&page=0&view=collapsed&sb=5 &o=0&part=1&vc=1>is</a> female...

anyway, this is more than likely a naughty process that on occasion is doing something that requires a high-moderate CPu power that's causing VBA to "hiccup." The best option would be to go into process manager and ser the priority thread to high normal and se if that helps. If it doesn't then it might be an issue with the program or something hardware related. Also, a posting of PC specs would be nice...

<P ID="signature"></P>

shawn 06-06-2007 05:43 PM

Re: VBA Sound Trouble
 
> spoiler: She is female...

Whoops, sorry Essee. I didn't check your profile. I kind of hate guys treating women like shitheads because they are female and did that out of a gut reaction. Enjoy the forum while your here since it was obviously a joke you were making and I was the idiot in this case even though I meant well. <img src=smilies/cwm11.gif>
<P ID="signature">Get off your ass and do it because it isn't going to happen on it's own no matter how much you wish it would.</P>

Essee 06-07-2007 12:15 AM

Re: VBA Sound Trouble
 
> Whoops, sorry Essee. I didn't check your profile. I kind
> of hate guys treating women like shitheads because they are
> female and did that out of a gut reaction. Enjoy the forum
> while your here since it was obviously a joke you were
> making and I was the idiot in this case even though I meant well.

Haha, hey, I don't really mind... I'm already aware that I sound pretty gender-neutral when I post online, and hey, I'm all for gender equality. =P I definitely didn't mean to offend anyone who shares my gender, especially if they know their computer intimately, at any rate, and if I would've justified that response if I were a guy, I probably should have worded it better anyway! I think I might stick around this place for a while, anyway, since I don't really post on any other forums (assuming DeviantART isn't counted as a forum, and I've been M.I.A. there lately) at the moment, and honestly you all (from what I've seen thus far) seem like a fairly cool group. Not sure how often I'll be posting 'cause I'm going to have a fairly busy summer, but we'll see!

>VBA doesn't allow you change the buffer size, apparently. One
>thing you may want to try is applying "Use Old Synchronization"
>for the sound engine.

Unfortunately, I already gave that a shot-- the first place I screwed around was all the sound settings. You DID remind me of something I thought I might not have tried-- unchecking Synchronize in the regular emulator options-- but that didn't do the trick either. Maybe I'm just cursed!

>The best option would be to go into process manager and ser the
>priority thread to high normal and se if that helps. If it
>doesn't then it might be an issue with the program or something
>hardware related. Also, a posting of PC specs would be nice...

I tried through VBA's built-in priority-setter on all settings other than normal, didn't do anything. As for the process manager, Above Normal and High didn't seem to do anything either. I don't think there's a process (although conceivably it could be a service because I don't check those 24/7) messing with me, because I recognize them and none of them have been changed in several months. Also, other emulators that I know have higher requirements-- I have ePSXe on here and have played a couple of my games that wouldn't require an analog stick on it (since I don't have a controller with one)-- run just fine.
But, for reference, I essentially have running at any time (besides the default XP processes): TeaTimer (Spybot: Search & Destroy's tool for letting you allow/deny startup and registry changes), AVG Free 7's Resident Shield (my antivirus software), and my tablet software. I also sometimes have Firefox, iTunes, or SeaMonkey (excellent browser that is also from Mozilla) running. I've tried killing every process except VBA in order to diagnose that-- no luck. =/

As for my specs, oookay, here are roughly my specs (let me know if there's some reason you need more specs, 'cause I don't know if there's a particular "code" as far as posting them goes, and I'm just finding the info through myself quickly and Dxdiag):
Windows XP Pro SP2 (up-to-date)
AMD Athlon 64 Processor 3700+
2.41 GHz CPU
512 MB of RAM
NVIDIA GeForce 6200 A-LE, 128 MB memory
SoundBlaster PCI512 sound card (16-bit, I think... hasn't given me any trouble in the couple years I've had it)
Running DirectX 9.0c
Main HDD: 80 GB (37.6 free), Secondary: 40 GB (21.7 free)
Desktop Resolution: 1024x768

Also, AS I KEEP FORGETTING TO MENTION, I'm playing VBA windowed at 2x scale. Not a fan of running most stuff fullscreen, myself. I usually use the hq2x filter built-in, but I've tried not using a filter (and/or using other filters) with no luck.

Before I posted this, I ran another virus and spy/adware scan (using Ad-Aware, Spybot: S&D, AVG Free, HijackThis) where nothing popped up, effectively reinstalled VBA by replacing VisualBoyAdvance.exe...
I then, on a whim, tried dropping my render method to Direct3D, nothing. BUT when I dropped down to DirectDraw... it finally stopped. This looks (to me) pretty bad, because the refresh rate of the window seems to drop. Adding VSync made the problem reappear, but I have had it off since I tried testing whether VSync was the problem. For no apparent reason, when I tried switching back UP to Direct3D (no VSync), it remained fixed! Switching back up to OpenGL... broke it again. D3D still doesn't look as good as OpenGL, but I can stomach it if need be. I assume that I never found this out because, while I did switch down to D3D, I did not try it again after switching to DD.
What I want to know at this point is... Why is it that running it in OpenGL suddenly does not work perfectly, and why can I actually run other programs in OpenGL <u>2</u> with no problems? From my stats, my machine should be able to handle it with no problem (as it HAS been until now), right? So annoying! If nobody has any other ideas, I'll stick with this configuration, but at any rate thanks for all the suggestions-- at least the VSync one WAS part of the problem. Also... sorry for the insanely long post. <<
<P ID="signature"></P>

The 9th Sage 06-08-2007 03:02 AM

Re: VBA Sound Trouble
 
> What I want to know at this point is... Why is it that
> running it in OpenGL suddenly does not work perfectly, and
> why can I actually run other programs in OpenGL 2 with no
> problems?

Well, could be any number of things....maybe VBA's OpenGL programming is a less efficient than the Direct3D, or maybe it's trying to do something your video card's drivers don't like (hmmm...any updated video drivers you could install?)...or it could be gremlins. I think Gremlins are what is preventing VBA from running full speed for me. :P
<P ID="signature">http://www.xanga.com/ZeldaDDhttp://xc4.xanga.com/a19a76323353179.../z54103151.png
In the post there is a cow...</a></P>

Essee 06-08-2007 04:59 AM

Re: VBA Sound Trouble
 
> ...or it could be gremlins. I think Gremlins are
> what is preventing VBA from running full speed for me. :P

I'm betting on gremlins, too, myself. =P It could be that VBA doesn't run in OpenGL as well as most things do, too, yeah, haha. Another interesting thing is that, if I turn the sound off in VBA, like if I want to listen to other music instead, I actually have to run it in OpenGL to keep it from running at OVER full speed. Not that I mind, though, 'cause the problem doesn't seem to be the speed in the first place, so I can have the better render mode with no problems. I'm going to try downloading new video card drivers this weekend (when I will have access to a better connection), at any rate, and even if that doesn't fix my problem, hey, new drivers!
<P ID="signature"></P>

The 9th Sage 06-08-2007 07:35 AM

Re: VBA Sound Trouble
 
> at any
> rate, and even if that doesn't fix my problem, hey, new
> drivers!

Heh, that sounds way too much like me...."ZOMG! New Drivers!"
<P ID="signature">http://www.xanga.com/ZeldaDDhttp://xc4.xanga.com/a19a76323353179.../z54103151.png
In the post there is a cow...</a></P>

Zero0000000 08-31-2015 06:05 PM

Disabling vsync worked ty
 
Had the same problem, i had vsync and audio sync on. But every 15 secs the sound would overlap itself and crackle, i disabled vsync and left audio sync on, nd i have throtle off. Nd it works perfect now

Ps sry for necro, but i just found this thread today, so maybe my post will still help someone


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:02 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.