Zophar's Message Domain

Zophar's Message Domain (http://www.zophar.net/forums/index.php)
-   General Emulation (http://www.zophar.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   A .7z and.. .ape files 0.o (http://www.zophar.net/forums/showthread.php?t=14256)

mistamontiel 06-07-2010 09:12 PM

A .7z and.. .ape files 0.o
 
Gonna see what PakkISO can do..as emuparadise suggests it.

I get C3 racing, in it is a .7z and .ape files. the .7z is (Track 1) and the rest is (Track 2) and so on..

I xtract and just look into the .7z and it's a .bin.ecm file. So how do I put those .ape files to use..? Seems like music to me ? Sorry gaiz =\

The 9th Sage 06-07-2010 09:34 PM

it sounds like PakkIso is what you need. You could probably do everything manually but it sounds like Pakkiso will do it automatically, so there's no need.

Also, the .ape files are probably Monkey's Audio, which is a lossless audio codec (I'm presuming they used it because of that reason). Bin.ecm is an ISO image (in this case it sounds like JUST the data track) that has been put through Neill Corlett's ECM program. ECM tends to make ISO images compress better...the process is easily reversible, so it's kind of a win win situation.

mistamontiel 06-07-2010 10:05 PM

Oh my god. Yeh I made somewhat progress with PakkISO..it's playable but no music. All the .ape files now became .bin as well.

Earlier when I just decompressed with Monkey's Audio program they were all .wav a whopping 404MB in total. Thought it was a lot for music..what shall I do with all of the .bin just make em .wav ? Thanks so much in advance 9th Sage.

The 9th Sage 06-07-2010 10:14 PM

It was going to have to convert the audio to WAV, yes. Redbook CD Audio doesn't use any kind of compression. Anyway, if Pakkiso didn't put it back together I'm not exactly sure. There's not a cue sheet (.cue file) or anything like that is there?

mistamontiel 06-07-2010 10:26 PM

Negative on the .cue file. They're all .bin and music doesn't play out. I tried renaming to .wav but couldn't play em myself..was hoping they would work ingame :[

InVerse 06-08-2010 12:39 AM

Have you considered just redownloading the game from a place that doesn't package their games like morons?

schmocke 06-08-2010 12:46 AM

for the *.ecm file - un-ecm it (already done, I guess) for the *.ape files - try to unpack them with desired encoder (Monkeys Audio). You could try Isobuster or PowerISO to merge the files and get an ISO and or cuefile - but i doubt it will work as it should.
Otherwise, try to get a proper image without this comlicated crap - like a mds/mdf or ccd/img/sub image.

mistamontiel 06-08-2010 02:15 AM

C3 Car Constructors Championship..somethin' like that is xtremely rare. I've checked for the American version Max Racing someshit..totally rare

I can still mount and run just the .bin only. Yes..Monkey Audio program did the .ape to .wav

I'm just goin' apeshit..:X

InVerse 06-08-2010 02:42 AM

This is the Internet, son, there's no such thing as "rare". It took me less than 30 seconds to find a copy of the game on a well known ROM site using Google.

And according to GameFAQs, there is no American version. It lists both C3 Racing: Car Constructors Championship and Max Power Racing as European only releases. And according to Wikipedia, the game is known as Max Power Racing in Europe.

I would tell you where/how to find it but that's frowned upon here because they're afraid it will detract from the advertising revenues derived from this site's ROM section. (Even though this site doesn't have that particular PSX game.) (Note: The staff of Zophar's Domain would like you to know that they are not affiliated with the ROM section of this site. They would like you to believe that the ROM section isn't affiliated with this site either but seeing as how they're owned/admined by the same person jackass who can't even be bothered to visit and share a common name/domain/design, that pretty much qualifies as an affiliation in most books.)

So, in short, you suck at Google. Go practice.

PS: Occam's Razor

mistamontiel 06-08-2010 03:29 AM

Oh that damn "SNES" site..well. A .z01 and a .zip ? That's odd..I shall see what I can do with them and WinRAR..:X

InVerse 06-08-2010 04:36 AM

Bingo. I didn't test the files (other than to make sure they were still downloadable) since I'm on dialup and it would have been faster to just write the game myself from scratch but I've yet to see a bad file on there that wasn't immediately pointed out in the first couple of posts, so i presume it's good.

mistamontiel 06-08-2010 04:57 AM

Ouchy dude. Found another source, split into some .rar so I should be good..thanks yo..darn..a european only game.

EDIT: Damn corrupt volumes. Gah..never seen that .z01 filetype dude..wishy me luck. Dagnabbit

EDIT 2: Why is the majority of PS1 releases always cannot play audio..? I mount em all in Daemon Tools and Run CDROM yet I cannot get any good results :[

schmocke 06-08-2010 02:35 PM

Nearly every game I´ve loaded in ePSXe 1.7 directly from the "ISO-Menu" which had audiotracks played them fine. Not to say that they´ve worked flawlessly on a modded Playstation.
Regarding to the affiliation between the "two sites" - from what I´ve read, the owner/Administrator has long gone and isn´t available for the staff here. The Site´s still on and nobody here can do something about it. But for newcomers, it has to look like a paradox.

InVerse 06-08-2010 03:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by schmocke (Post 99950)
Regarding to the affiliation between the "two sites" - from what I´ve read, the owner/Administrator has long gone and isn´t available for the staff here. The Site´s still on and nobody here can do something about it. But for newcomers, it has to look like a paradox.

The owner/admin is "long gone" from *this* site but he's still active online despite his refusal to answer emails regarding the site. Fortunately, steps have been taken that will allow the seizure of the domain name should he fail to renew it when it expires in a couple of months. It would take considerably more work to procure the actual site content but most of that is useless anyway.


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:38 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.