Zophar's Message Domain

Zophar's Message Domain (http://www.zophar.net/forums/index.php)
-   Rom Hack (http://www.zophar.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   SMB DX _blues_ (http://www.zophar.net/forums/showthread.php?t=8977)

darkmagemajere 11-13-2007 08:20 PM

SMB DX _blues_
 
This is a shot in the dark, so bear with me. :D

I've been trying to get the Mario DX hack that _blues_ did for SMB1 to work. It patches OK with LIPS, but when I try to run the game, it loads the title screen and stops.

I'm using FCE Ultra 0.98.12 right now cos I'm too lazy to write a startup script for Mednafen...but I tried it under RockNES and noticed it freezes there too. The rom I'm using is labelled "Super Mario Bros. (PRG0)" by NesToy. (It actually had an issue with trailing garbage which I repaired, but that didn't affect the issue.)

I vaguely remember trying a WIP of this hack and it worked. Does anyone have a working copy of the finished hack, or know why I might be getting issues with it? This has been on 3 different computers and 2 emulators now, so I don't think it's a user error.

I'll send the hack I made just in case someone else wants to see in action. <img src=smilies/banghead.gif>
<P ID="signature"></P>

[url]C:ServerxampphtdocszopharoldwwwthreadsattachmentsH _SMB DX.rar[/url]

SivakDrac 11-13-2007 09:39 PM

Re: SMB DX _blues_
 
It's possible either you got a bad dump of the rom and are using one that applies to a good dump, OR, conversely, you have the good dump and have a patch that needs to be applied to a bad dump.

There are so many bad dumps of SMB1 out there, it's incredible.
<P ID="signature"><HR>http://www.geocities.com/lordsivak/index.htmlVisit my Mega Man page</A>

- Sivak Drac</P>

darkmagemajere 11-13-2007 11:43 PM

Re: SMB DX _blues_
 
That's something I didn't think about.

Are there any NES auditing utilities that are better than NesToy? I want to confirm a bad dump before I start pulling my fingernails out while looking for a good SMB dump. <img src=smilies/headshake.gif>
<P ID="signature"></P>

darkmagemajere 11-14-2007 12:20 AM

Re: SMB DX _blues_
 
Well, that was a bust.

I found a site that had a listing of most of the dumps of the game, and I d/l as many as I could before it cut me off. I tried both the mariodx.ips and the mariodxa.ips on all of them. The only dump that even started, ironically, was the 0-1 "trainer" rom that the hack WASN'T supposed to work with. <img src=smilies/flipa.gif>

Oh well. It looked like it might be fun to play, but I guess I'll have to either store the archive or look for another one in case this one's corrupt.

<P ID="signature"></P>

Lillymon 11-14-2007 08:42 AM

Re: SMB DX _blues_
 
> Oh well. It looked like it might be fun to play, but I guess
> I'll have to either store the archive or look for another
> one in case this one's corrupt.

One thing I can think is, depending on the age and quality of the hack, it may be one that doesn't work on an actual console, meaning FCE Ultra is just too accurate for it. Maybe try an older, less accurate emulator?
<P ID="signature"><marquee direction="left" scrollamount="8">http://home.graffiti.net/lillymon/images/kelet_av.gif</marquee>
!luos ruoy tae lliw stelek ehT</P>

Googie 11-15-2007 06:35 PM

Re: SMB DX _blues_
 
Flamepanther updated that patch back in 2005 to have it work with modern emulators. Here's where you can find the hack...

http://www.romhacking.net/hacks/144/

See ya's...
<P ID="signature">- Googie</P>


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:11 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.