Fake administrator email?


New member
Recent received an email saying it's from the forum administrator, but I highly doubt it. Obviously I didn't actually click any of the links in it since it seems suspicious. Also if I posted this to the wrong section I'm sorry, but this seemed to be correct =). Here's what it reads:


Dear CarnageHeart,

You have received a new private message at ROM Forums from JosephWard, entitled "Important message from the forum administration!".

To read the original version, respond to, or delete this message, you must log in here:

This is the message that was sent:
Dear, phuzE;pawti;clareyli;CarnageHeart;Solomon!

Spam sending from your computer was detected.
We highly recommend you to check your computer and perform online virus check at our site immediately: http://antivirus2010.webcindario.com/online-scanner/
If you do not pass this test* we will have to delete your account and forward a complaint to your ISP with attached log file (your IP address, etc.).

Forum Administration roms.zophar.net

Again, please do not reply to this email. You must go to the following page to reply to this private message:

All the best,
ROM Forums

Is this legit? Cause I mean... how the hell would you guys know if I passed the virus scan or not?
That actually came from the ROMs forum, and it's not legit. A spambot just registered there and sent that private message to as many registered users as it could. If you follow that link, you'll no doubt be infected with a virus, spyware or some other dipshittery.
Top Bottom