PDA

View Full Version : Temporal Flux Release


Evil Peer
11-24-2004, 06:01 PM
There were some clues to a mystery in the teaser thread. If you would like to figure it out, now would be the time (http://board.acmlm.org/thread.php?id=7814). Need a hint? Take a look at Proto K's screenshot and then watch the battle scene with Dark Crono and Marle closely. Very closely.

---

Now comes the part where I make many of you very happy and a few of you very sad. You see, the teaser patch was just a big swerve. Temporal Flux is not a ROM hack at all.



Temporal Flux is an editor.

You've tried my other programs and think they rock? You (http://evilpeer.net/crypt/tf00.png) ain't (http://evilpeer.net/crypt/tf01.png) seen (http://evilpeer.net/crypt/tf02.png) nothing (http://evilpeer.net/crypt/tf03.png) yet (http://evilpeer.net/crypt/tf04.png).

I could sit here all day and list all the features this program has, but I figure you would rather just get the bleeping thing. The boards get this first. It will be posted to Zophar's front page sometime Friday.

This program requires the .NET Framework v1.1 which is available from Windows Update and elsewhere on Microsoft's website.

http://evilpeer.net/crypt/tf101.zip (227k)

And Chickenlump has written up a manual that covers some of the basics.

http://evilpeer.net/crypt/tfmanual.zip (615k)

I have to give some special thanks to Chickenlump and JLukas. Without them, Temporal Flux would only be about half as far along as it is now.

Finally, there are some ways you can help the further development of this editor. Layer 3 tiles are not displayed or editable in this version, mostly because I do not know how to render them on top of the other tiles. And a number of Location Event commands are not fully decoded, so if you can figure some of that out, it would be a big help.

What's to come? Overworld Event and (hopefully) Layer 3 editing are scheduled for the next version. The eventual goal is to be able to edit everything (though it will probably be some time before TF is capable of that ^_^).

Bug reports and suggestions are always welcome. If you find that you like this program so much you would like to thank me in some manner, nothing says "thank you" quite like a Donation (https://www.paypal.com/xclick/business=michaelspringer%40email.com&item_name=Temporal+Flux+Software+Donation&item_number=Temporal+Flux&no_shipping=1&tax=0&currency_code=USD).

---Evil Peer<P ID="edit"><FONT class="small">Edited by Evil Peer on 11/24/04 06:51 PM.</FONT></P>

Dark Knight Kain
11-24-2004, 06:19 PM
> Temporal Flux is an editor.

Well I'm very happy and a little sad, the teaser made it look like an awesome ROM hack but I think an editor is even better. I'm downloading it now <img src=smilies/thumb.gif>

<P ID="signature">http://home.earthlink.net/~dragonsbrethren/images/newdkk/dkkbanner.png</P>

CROcOp
11-24-2004, 06:34 PM
> Temporal Flux is an editor.

When I saw the news, I killed myself. Such a great editor...
I downloaded it immediately, and I went to Microsoft page to download the that .NET file, and then... The file is about 20MB big!
That is little to much for me, thanks. What should I do now...?<img src=smilies/puke.gif>

<P ID="signature"></P>

Jathys
11-24-2004, 06:55 PM
My suspicions were correct! I'll be downloading and testing later, of course, but am too busy with my SM hack at the moment... Oh well.

*Laughs at the fact that the manual is larger than the program*

<P ID="signature">http://jathys.zophar.nethttp://jathys.zophar.net/images/zd_avatar.gif</a></P>

JCE3000GT
11-24-2004, 07:46 PM
I
just
busted
a
nut

<img src=smilies/liefde.gif>

*edit*
You going to include an events editor so we can completely redo CT with a new story?

<P ID="signature"><center>http://www.blitzkrieg.finalconquest.net/http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v307/VonBlitzKrieg/sig.jpg
BlitzKrieg Innovations</a></center></P>

maq112k2
11-24-2004, 08:59 PM
> Bug reports and suggestions are always welcome. If you find
> that you like this program so much you would like to thank
> me in some manner, nothing says "thank you" quite like a
> Donation.

Mkay. Suggestion, in Music, can you add a music player? Some people (like me) can't remember the music as well as we'd like. :)

<P ID="signature"></P>

Canar
11-24-2004, 09:35 PM
> Now comes the part where I make many of you very happy and a
> few of you very sad. You see, the teaser patch was just a
> big swerve. Temporal Flux is not a ROM hack at all.

Well, that makes me sad for the present, while making me hopeful for the future.

The unfortunate bit is that despite having a few kick-ass editors for a few kick-ass games, there are fewer kick-ass edits. Look at Super Mario World for a prime example of this.

<P ID="signature"><center><a href='http://canar.no-ip.com'>http://canar.no-ip.com/teng_title.png
Visit my site and leave comments plzkthxbye.</a></center></P>

Evil Peer
11-24-2004, 11:52 PM
I have fix a bug related to exits for both Locations and Overworlds. The above links have already been updated for the full version.

You can grab the update only download from here:
http://evilpeer.net/crypt/tf101.update.zip (119k)

I have also updated the exits example in the manual so that it is more complete.
http://evilpeer.net/crypt/tfmanual.update.zip (8k)

---Evil Peer

<P ID="signature"></P>

Jathys
11-25-2004, 12:05 AM
Such a sad thing that TF isn't working on this computer . . . I start it up and a message pops up stating:

"The application failed to initialize properly..."

<P ID="signature">http://jathys.zophar.nethttp://jathys.zophar.net/images/zd_avatar.gif</a></P>

Evil Peer
11-25-2004, 12:49 AM
> "The application failed to initialize properly..."

Do not know what to tell you there. Make sure you have .NET v1.1 installed and all the DLLs from the full release.

At any rate, another bug fix. I was using some incorrect bit math for tile properties (so it was impossible to make a solid tile walkable, etc).

Full:
http://evilpeer.net/crypt/tf102.zip (227k)

Update:
http://evilpeer.net/crypt/tf102.update.zip (120k)

---Evil Peer

<P ID="signature"></P>

Kuikorosu
11-25-2004, 02:10 AM
Awesome work. I should spend the time that I use trolling message boards and learn to program. Mad props.

<P ID="signature"></P>

JCE3000GT
11-25-2004, 03:28 AM
*prays the next release edits the game's events so he can make a completely new game*

<P ID="signature"><center>http://www.blitzkrieg.finalconquest.net/http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v307/VonBlitzKrieg/sig.jpg
BlitzKrieg Innovations</a></center></P>

Evil Peer
11-25-2004, 03:38 AM
> *prays the next release edits the game's events so he can
> make a completely new game*

I did not answer your first post because an answer had already been provided, but since you still do not seem to know, try clicking on the word "yet" in my first post.

---Evil Peer

<P ID="signature"></P>

JCE3000GT
11-25-2004, 04:04 AM
> I did not answer your first post because an answer had
> already been provided, but since you still do not seem to
> know, try clicking on the word "yet" in my first post.

LoL whoops...I assumed all 4 words were the same link. My mistake. And somehow I completely missed that paragraph while reading the post...I think I was on the phone during that time period. <img src=smilies/cwm27.gif>

<P ID="signature"><center>http://www.blitzkrieg.finalconquest.net/http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v307/VonBlitzKrieg/sig.jpg
BlitzKrieg Innovations</a></center></P>

MooglyGuy
11-25-2004, 04:55 AM
Does anyone plan to document exactly what each opcode does and what its parameters are?

<P ID="signature"></P>

Evil Peer
11-25-2004, 05:32 AM
> Does anyone plan to document exactly what each opcode does
> and what its parameters are?

http://www.zophar.net/wwwthreads/showflat.php?Cat=&Board=romhack&Number=245717&page=0&view=collapsed&sb=5&o=0&part=

---Evil Peer

<P ID="signature"></P>

The 9th Sage
11-25-2004, 05:13 PM
> > Temporal Flux is an editor.
>
> Well I'm very happy and a little sad, the teaser made it
> look like an awesome ROM hack but I think an editor is even
> better. I'm downloading it now

I am as well...an editor is cool (can't wait to see what people could do with Chrono Trigger...but please, no more "Chrono, your mom is HOT!" hacks) , but I was looking forward to a full blown hack. <img src=smilies/laff.gif>

<P ID="signature">http://www.xanga.com/ZeldaDDhttp://i.xanga.com/ZeldaDD/metxl01ss02.gif

Glargel blarg rargle! (Go to my weblog!)</a></P>

Evil Peer
11-26-2004, 12:20 AM
'Nother bug fix. Tile property selector was using the old, wrong value for solid tiles.

Full:
http://evilpeer.net/crypt/tf103.zip

Update:
http://evilpeer.net/crypt/tf103.update.zip

---Evil Peer

<P ID="signature"></P>

CROcOp
11-26-2004, 01:32 AM
It is cool, but... It is to slow! <img src=smilies/cry.gif>

<P ID="signature"></P>

CROcOp
11-26-2004, 01:35 AM
If someone could do the same things with Final Fantasy 3...
<img src=smilies/banghead.gif>

<P ID="signature"></P>

CROcOp
11-26-2004, 01:35 AM
If someone could do the same thing with Final Fantasy 3...
<img src=smilies/banghead.gif>

<P ID="signature"></P>

Evil Peer
11-26-2004, 01:41 AM
> It is cool, but... It is to slow!

Software renderer. Sorry.

---Evil Peer

<P ID="signature"></P>

JCE3000GT
11-26-2004, 01:56 AM
LoL...keep it coming. I'm archiving them all just for shits and giggles. <img src=smilies/magbiggrin.gif>

<P ID="signature"><center>http://www.blitzkrieg.finalconquest.net/http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v307/VonBlitzKrieg/sig.jpg
BlitzKrieg Innovations</a></center></P>

Murray
11-28-2004, 09:46 PM
The next version NEEDS to allow for the header to be put back in when saving, otherwise the ROM will no longer work with other editors such as Crone.

CROcOp
11-29-2004, 03:31 PM
You forgot the font editor...
<img src=smilies/laff.gif>

<P ID="signature"></P>

Dan
11-29-2004, 04:17 PM
> The next version NEEDS to allow for the header to be put
> back in when saving, otherwise the ROM will no longer work
> with other editors such as Crone.

Re-add the header yourself when you need to use Crone. It's really not that hard to do.

<P ID="signature"><div align="center"><font size=2>http://dan.panicus.orgDan's Space</a></font></div></P>

JCE3000GT
12-28-2004, 10:38 PM
*see topic

It's not saving the new values I choose for the instruments. Bug perhaps? Using v1.06.

<P ID="signature"><center>http://www.blitzkrieg.finalconquest.net/http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v307/VonBlitzKrieg/sig.jpg
BlitzKrieg Innovations</a></center></P>

Evil Peer
12-28-2004, 11:28 PM
> It's not saving the new values I choose for the instruments.
> Bug perhaps? Using v1.06.

If that is the latest version, then it should work. Music is tied into the Location window. You need to "Write to Memory" before you save to file.

---Evil Peer

<P ID="signature"></P>

CROcOp
12-29-2004, 01:41 AM
> If that is the latest version, then it should work. Music
> is tied into the Location window. You need to "Write to
> Memory" before you save to file.

But there is no "Write to Memory". Oh, I found it.
But when I save music, it ruins the game

<P ID="signature"></P>

JCE3000GT
12-29-2004, 08:38 PM
Here's a way I've been able to edit the music without screwing up anything like the save load screen music. Choose the last location map then edit your song...because if you just load the Locations window and then the music and start editing you'll be putting music on whatever map is selected in the locations window which defaults to "Load Screen".

Here's what instruments I've documented in a few minutes. This is a very rough chart and is horribly incomplete and ugly to look at. The ones that are unknown with ? marks I didn't feel like researching them further. Maybe Evil Peer can take what's not unknown on this list and throw it in the next release. Anyone else want to finish/clean this up?

<blockquote><font class="small">In reply to:</font><hr>

Chrono Trigger Instrument Bytes

01 - Clap
02 - [unknown] Conga Drum?
03 - [unknown] Conga Drum?
04 - Tamborine
05 - Kick Drum
06 - Snare Drum 1
07 - Hihat (Closed)
08 - Hihat (Open)
09 - [unknown] Picked String?
0A - Picked Violin String (I think)
0B - Tom
0C - [unknown] Conga Drum?
0D - [unknown] Conga Drum?
0E - [unknown] Conga Drum
0F - [unknown]
10 - [unknown] Conga Drum?

22 - Oboe
23 - Crystal Synth
24 - Trumpet
25 - Snare Drum 2
26 - Horn
27 - Cymbal (Looped)
28 - Tubular Bell
29 - [unknown] (Thing played on the 2300 AD map)
2A - [unknown]
2B - Xylophone
2C - Strings
2D - Steel Guitar
2E - Water Drips
2F - Sitar
30 - [unknown] Birds?
31 - [unknown] Wooden Shaker thingy (I know what it is just forgot what it's called)
32 - Wooden Flute
33 - Electric Bass
34 - [unknown] Rock Organ or Electric Piano?
35 - Synth (Instrument from Schala's Music)
36 - [unknown]
37 - [unknown] I know what it is...just don't know what to call it
38 - French Horn
39 - Water Stream
3A - Chorus
3B - Clock Tick
3C - [unknown] Laugh?
3D - [unknown]

<hr></blockquote>

<P ID="signature"><center>http://www.blitzkrieg.finalconquest.net/http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v307/VonBlitzKrieg/sig.jpg
BlitzKrieg Innovations</a></center></P>

JCE3000GT
12-29-2004, 08:52 PM
I have a small suggestion. For those who want to start with a completely blank canvas to start thier CT hacks how about an empty maps/locations/etc option that will erase and blank out all maps and locations.

<P ID="signature"><center>http://www.blitzkrieg.finalconquest.net/http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v307/VonBlitzKrieg/sig.jpg
BlitzKrieg Innovations</a></center></P>

Unspecified
12-30-2004, 12:36 AM
It seems that when ever I add an additional exit to the Present overworld(making 51 total), and save it, the game will only play in my emulator until the camera sweep showing the map after you enter Crono's name. Change it back and save, and it works just fine. I've even modified the map to make a new island, and it works fine with that. Any ideas on how to fix this, or what could be causing it? Thanks!


Also, I gotta say this is one of the coolest things I've ever seen. It works great, and does everything I've ever wanted to do. I've been playing with RPG makers for a while, and there ok, but don't do what im looking for. The CT game engine is one of the best I've ever seen, and being able to work with it at this level is fucking great! Awesome job, I must say.

<P ID="signature">...</P>

Unspecified
12-30-2004, 01:14 AM
Ok. I think I might have figured out what the problem is. There was a section in the manual that didn't make much sense until now. It states that exits can only be placed on certain tiles on the overworlds, and that may be what the problem is. Now, is it that you can't add exits to the overworld, and only modify the ones that are there, or does it mean that there are specific locations on the map that they won't work on?
Another problem I've found, probably cause I'm doing something retarded, the destination I set for an overworld exit sends me in the middle of the ocean, even though I use the first digits of the hex location shown in the corner of the edit window. I've tried different things with it, but it puts me in the same spot every time. Trying to exit to a new island i built in between the left and right upper contenents(cant think of the names right now), in Present. Thanks again for any help.




**EDIT**

Ok, so i think I figured out another part of the problem. It seems that an exit cannot point to the same area that it came from. Well, it actually breaks down to the editor pointing to a location instead of an overworld map, and there happens to be a "Present" Location {1F0}, and an overworld map called "Present" {0}. The {1F0} address is one of those red carpet glich areas (understand that?, cause I can't think of a better way to expain it. lol). It teleports the character to the upper left corner of the present map, in the space that the location would take up on it, or so it seems. Well, i guess the way around it would be to have the exit point to a location, and jump back out of the location to the island i made. hmmm..


Still, does anyone know why the overworld glitches on that additional exit i started this overly introspective monolog off on?

<P ID="signature">...</P><P ID="edit"><FONT class="small">Edited by Unspecified on 12/29/04 09:48 PM.</FONT></P>

Evil Peer
12-30-2004, 05:20 PM
is it that you can't add exits to the overworld, and only modify the ones that are there, or does it mean that there are specific locations on the map that they won't work on?

It means they only work on certain tiles.

It seems that an exit cannot point to the same area that it came from.

Perhaps this is not something you can do for Overworlds. I am pretty sure it works for Locations though.

Still, does anyone know why the overworld glitches on that additional exit i started this overly introspective monolog off on?

I am fairly certain we have had more than 50 exits on a single map, but I will check when I come back from vacation.

---Evil Peer

<P ID="signature"></P>

Evil Peer
01-10-2005, 02:59 PM
I have checked on the number of exits issue. It does indeed create a problem. Right now my best guess is either that there cannot be more than 50 exits, or the "function" exits (such as Vortex Pt) are not being updated properly.

This will require further investigation. As I am currently working on Mark 9 of the Snes9x tracer, it may be awhile before this issue is resolved.

---T.Geiger

<P ID="signature"></P>

Isildur
01-17-2005, 08:39 AM
Whoah, awesome. I've always wanted to try playing around with CT.

<P ID="signature"><center>
<a href=http://1001insomniacnights.com><img src=http://pages.nyu.edu/~jc73/misc/1k1IN.gif border=0>
1k1IN:</a><font color=#903030> A Dark Comedy About 2 Roomates</font></center></P>

ADnova
01-24-2005, 09:33 AM
Great job on the editor.
I found some tech offset information that you might like to use, although compared to event manipulation this is a pretty low priority.
The offsets listed are for a headered ROM.

<P ID="signature"></P>

C:Serverxampphtdocszopharoldwwwthreadsattachmentst echs.txt

JCE3000GT
01-24-2005, 09:42 AM
> Great job on the editor.
> I found some tech offset information that you might like to
> use, although compared to event manipulation this is a
> pretty low priority.
> The offsets listed are for a headered ROM.

No data is low priority. I find this information very useful actually.

<P ID="signature"><center>http://www.blitzkrieg.finalconquest.net/http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v307/VonBlitzKrieg/blitz_rogue.jpg
BlitzKrieg Innovations</a></center></P>

Evil Peer
01-24-2005, 03:06 PM
> I found some tech offset information that you might like to
> use, although compared to event manipulation this is a
> pretty low priority.

Actually, I have already seen this. JLukas pointed me to them on the GS forums. Good work.

It is disappointing that most of the unused targeting methods do not work though.

---T.Geiger

<P ID="signature"></P>

Rpg fan
01-26-2005, 08:47 PM
Like chage the faces to other faces and another thing is like take the sprite lucca out and put someone else in like a replacement.

<P ID="signature"></P>

Chickenlump
01-27-2005, 02:39 AM
Editing the Portraits is rather easy, even for beginning hackers.
Zeality has made an awesome tutorial for you to follow along with.

http://www.chronocompendium.com/Term/Changing_the_status_menu_portraits

Changing the characters themselves will be quite a bit harder, requiring graphics hacking, sprite assembly hacking, animation data hacking, etc..
Untill something like this is added, or tutorials are written (what a task that would be... >_<), you could start and draw out your new character, all his/her frames, and tweak them to perfection, so when you are capable of adding him/her in, he/she will be sprited out and ready to rumble.






<P ID="signature"></P>

Rpg fan
01-27-2005, 02:48 AM
Thanks for the help i will try to change things around like the characters if i need help with anything i will reply.

<P ID="signature"></P>

Rpg fan
01-27-2005, 02:55 AM
another thing how do you run the program and there is no program to click on what do i need.

<P ID="signature"></P>

Ugly Joe
01-27-2005, 03:04 AM
> another thing how do you run the program and there is no
> program to click on what do i need.
>
Read the very first part under the header "Tile Molester". It has a link to where you can get the Java Runtimes, you need those to use Tile Molester. Once you have that installed, you can double-click on tm.jar to run Tile Molester.

<P ID="signature"></P>

AkaneJones
01-27-2005, 07:14 AM
Well, from my experiance messing around with the graphics in CT I can say only Crono, Marle, Lucca, Frog, Robo, Ayla, & Magus(only the party version not Preist version and such) are the only sprites visable in CT by normal means though they shouldn't be to hard to hack, just long but surprizingly not as long as hacking the SoM main characters. The other graphics are compressed but you can get all but the NPCs from the CT character library if you want to uses them as main characters. I did note that Flea didn't actually have enough sprites to work as a main character and felt the work it'd take to make additional graphics to make it work would habe been to great with little garenty that it'd be possable to get it to work corectly anyway since very little work had been done on CT at the time.


<P ID="signature"><hr>
<center>
http://members.aol.com/AkaneJones/Pics/LMleh.gifhttp://members.aol.com/AkaneJones/Pics/LynnStatus.png
</center></P>

Rpg fan
01-28-2005, 02:26 AM
I got the program netbeans 4.0 now how do you use it to change those characters sprites and faces and other reason when i try to open the chrono trigger.smc it said someting about netbeans not working right or not at all so how to use thats the question.

<P ID="signature"></P>

Ugly Joe
01-28-2005, 02:45 AM
" If you don't have the Java runtimes required, go to http://java.sun.com/j2se/1.5.0/download.jsp and download the JRE 5.0 Update 1, not the JDK program, as the JRE allows average users to run Java programs while JDK is actually a tool for creating them."

You need to download JRE 5.0 Update 1, not NetBeans, and install that first. Once that is installed, you need to download Tile Molester and run that.

<P ID="signature"></P>

Rpg fan
01-28-2005, 06:19 AM
Now need help don't know what to do next a little advice please.<P ID="edit"><FONT class="small">Edited by Rpg fan on 01/28/05 01:30 AM.</FONT></P>

mrfreeze
01-28-2005, 06:27 AM
> Do you know where to get tile molester at.
>
Zophar.net

It's buried in the utilities section.

<P ID="signature">Are you doing nothing? Or something?</P>

phonymike
01-31-2005, 02:49 AM
<P ID="signature">immortality (http://www.alexchiu.com/affiliates/clickthru.cgi?id=phonymike)</P>

Rpg fan
01-31-2005, 06:28 PM
That not amazing and this has nothing to do with temporal flux anything at all way off.

<P ID="signature"></P>

Evil Peer
02-08-2005, 12:25 AM
Full:
http://geigercount.net/crypt/tf107.zip

Update:
http://geigercount.net/crypt/tf107.update.zip

<hr><blockquote>v1.07
Fixed
- Overworld Exits . increasing the number of exits caused some of the exit data to be omitted
- Location Scroll Mask . some areas have scroll masks larger than they should be able to, which caused problems when their data was read</blockquote><hr>

---T.Geiger

<P ID="signature"></P>