PDA

View Full Version : Hameln English Trans. Issues


Vermilion
11-15-2004, 06:36 PM
Hey there!
I have been trying to transalate and run the Violinist Of Hameln smc rom; the IPS Translation Tool seems to work, but, the CheckSum fails whenever I run the translated game and freezes after it shows the Enix's logo. The VOH rom works fine when normal [JAP-LAN], but It's more than a challenge to play that way... Any Solution?

<P ID="signature"></P>

The 9th Sage
11-15-2004, 09:44 PM
> Hey there!
> I have been trying to transalate and run the Violinist Of
> Hameln smc rom; the IPS Translation Tool seems to work, but,
> the CheckSum fails whenever I run the translated game and
> freezes after it shows the Enix's logo.

Is your ROM a good dump? You can verify with something like GoodSNES or NSRT....if they recognize it, then what emu are you using? I've run the english translation of Violinist of Hamln on Zsnes fine with none of the problems you're describing.

<P ID="signature">http://www.xanga.com/ZeldaDDhttp://i.xanga.com/ZeldaDD/metxl01ss02.gif

Glargel blarg rargle! (Go to my weblog!)</a></P>

AkaneJones
11-15-2004, 10:12 PM
Hum I don't know, I remebered trying to use the trans patch with older versions of ZSNES and it wouldn't load at all. Of course this was the version of ZSNES that would crap up on non-Euro versions of MegamanX.

<P ID="signature"><hr>
<center>
http://members.aol.com/AkaneJones/Pics/LMleh.gifhttp://members.aol.com/AkaneJones/Pics/LynnStatus.png
</center></P>

Gideon Zhi
11-15-2004, 10:14 PM
Sounds to me like you either need to add a header (if it doesn't have one) or delete the header (if it does have one.) It could also be an interleave issue, but it's been ages since I last played Hameln.

<P ID="signature"><hr><center>http://agtp.romhack.net<img src=http://agtp.romhack.net/linkage.gif></a>
Aeon Genesis ~ Aiyah! Thank you for the always and always. (http://agtp.romhack.net)</center></P>

The 9th Sage
11-16-2004, 02:14 AM
> Sounds to me like you either need to add a header (if it
> doesn't have one) or delete the header (if it does have
> one.) It could also be an interleave issue, but it's been
> ages since I last played Hameln.

Not sure, but these are the 'stats' so to speak for my ROM. Maybe it'll help that guy a little?

http://www.zophar.net/wwwthreads/attachment.php?Cat=&Board=romhack&Post=244793

<P ID="signature">http://www.xanga.com/ZeldaDDhttp://i.xanga.com/ZeldaDD/metxl01ss02.gif

Glargel blarg rargle! (Go to my weblog!)</a></P><P ID="edit"><FONT class="small">Edited by The 9th Sage on 11/15/04 09:15 PM.</FONT></P>

C:ServerxampphtdocszopharoldwwwthreadsattachmentsH ameln.png

Vermilion
11-16-2004, 05:03 PM
Thanks everybody.
Well, the rom turns into a bad-dump after being transalated...
Can that be fixed? Actually, I've checked and added the headers,but it was useless... These are the rom's "stats" have a look; the first one is before, the other is after...

<P ID="signature"></P>

C:ServerxampphtdocszopharoldwwwthreadsattachmentsD ata.PNG

Gideon Zhi
11-16-2004, 08:55 PM
Unless the team manually fixes the checksum for a patch, it -will- be bad whenever you apply the IPS. A bad checksum isn't necessarily a determinant of whether or not a ROM will work, it just tells you that the ROM's been changed in some form or other.

Try adding a header to the original Japanese rom, -then- applying the patch and running in an emulator. If that doesn't work, try interleaving the game.

<P ID="signature"><hr><center>http://agtp.romhack.net<img src=http://agtp.romhack.net/linkage.gif></a>
Aeon Genesis ~ Aiyah! Thank you for the always and always. (http://agtp.romhack.net)</center></P>

Vermilion
11-16-2004, 09:03 PM
Yep, now it works, that's a relief. Err... do you know where can get more info. on headers and interleaves?
Thanks!

<P ID="signature"></P>

Gideon Zhi
11-16-2004, 09:23 PM
Personally, since I do a lot of translation hacking on SNES games, I include information about the rom you need in my readme files. Some people don't, which can be a pretty big pain when it comes right down to it.

Basically, a header is a 512 byte chunk of largely null data that sits at the front of a ROM and tells copier units what to do with it. It has no bearing on emulators or anything like that, but its presence or absense can completely break the application of an IPS patch. IPS files simply contain a list of addresses, lengths, and data to write, and if a header is present when the patch isn't expecting one, your patcher will write all of its changes 512 bytes off (in one direction or another.) This can majorly screw games over, especially if it overwrites code vital to execution.

<P ID="signature"><hr><center>http://agtp.romhack.net<img src=http://agtp.romhack.net/linkage.gif></a>
Aeon Genesis ~ Aiyah! Thank you for the always and always. (http://agtp.romhack.net)</center></P>

The 9th Sage
11-17-2004, 04:50 PM
> Yep, now it works, that's a relief. Err... do you know where
> can get more info. on headers and interleaves?
> Thanks!

Ah, so it was a header problem? I was wondering if that was it since it was a good ROM you had apparently...had that problem awhile back, can't remember what the game or patch was, but I forgot I needed to add a header to the ROM for it to work. >_<

<P ID="signature">http://www.xanga.com/ZeldaDDhttp://i.xanga.com/ZeldaDD/metxl01ss02.gif

Glargel blarg rargle! (Go to my weblog!)</a></P>