PDA

View Full Version : problem with goodtools


KiluAlmighty
08-03-2004, 11:45 AM
I have this weird problem with good tools that it doesn't recognize some of the roms I have. It seems like it doesn't even see them, eventhough their ext is correct. What could be the reason for this? And is there anyway to fix it?

<P ID="signature"><marquee direction=left scrollamount=2><img src=http://personal.inet.fi/musiikki/mika/fatso.gif></marquee>
</P>

MegaManJuno
08-03-2004, 05:17 PM
> I have this weird problem with good tools that it doesn't
> recognize some of the roms I have. It seems like it doesn't
> even see them, eventhough their ext is correct. What could
> be the reason for this? And is there anyway to fix it?
>

Sounds to me at first guess that either:

A) You've got a dump that doesn't match up to the one(s) in the database (i.e.: an unknown verision/dump of the game by Cowering's point of view).

...or...

B) They are games released sometime after the GoodTool in question's last update... In this case, the game definitely would not be in the database at all since there would be no available ROM at the time to create a database entry from.

...This is all assuming that the games in question actually do work when you try to play them...

<P ID="signature"></P>

Turtle
08-03-2004, 05:30 PM
> I have this weird problem with good tools that it doesn't
> recognize some of the roms I have. It seems like it doesn't
> even see them, eventhough their ext is correct. What could
> be the reason for this? And is there anyway to fix it?

If it's a ROM the utility doesn't recognize, it just completely ignores it. Try downloading the game elsewhere, you might have gotten a corrupt download.


<P ID="signature"></P>

anewuser
08-04-2004, 01:22 AM
In what of the goodtools are you having problems? Just to make sure, are they compressed in something the goodtools don´t recognize (.7z, .ace) ?

<P ID="signature"></P><P ID="edit"><FONT class="small">Edited by anewuser on 08/03/04 09:27 PM.</FONT></P>

Narvick
08-04-2004, 02:39 AM
...and which Good tool would this be?


<P ID="signature">:D!</P>

KiluAlmighty
08-06-2004, 07:56 PM
> ...and which Good tool would this be?
>

most recently with goodgba

I have played the games with visualboy, and as far as I know, they work. It is my understanding that if the game is not in cowerings database, goodgba should report it as unknown? Or something like that. Am I right? Well, right now it doesn't even notice them. They are not packed and they are not that new games at all.

I was thinking that could it be winXP dosbox? I had some issues with it before, updating my old graphic cards bios.

Anyway, I was hoping that someone might have had similar issues. I guess not.

Maybe I'll just need to download them again.

<P ID="signature"><marquee direction=left scrollamount=2><img src=http://personal.inet.fi/musiikki/mika/fatso.gif></marquee>
</P>

The 9th Sage
08-07-2004, 01:51 AM
> I was thinking that could it be winXP dosbox?

I don't think so...it happens to me as well, and with all the other ROMs I dumped it had no problem recognizing them at all, so I think if it ignores them it just means they're an unknown...just because it works, it doesn't mean that it's necessarily a good dump.

Like, for some reason I can NOT get a recognizable dump of the game CIMA: The Enemy from my cartridge, so I'm assuming that it's a bad dump.

<P ID="signature">http://www.xanga.com/ZeldaDDhttp://www.angelfire.com/realm2/zdd2/images/Spenchi_Xanga.txt</a></P>