PDA

View Full Version : Any way to change whats on n64 cartridge from gameshark pro v3.3


tedgar
07-04-2004, 01:25 AM
i want to upload a new game to my stoopid old body harvest game.... to lets say super smash bro's... but how to i uplaod the game to the cartride from a gameshark pro v3.3... i have a program to dump roms from the g/s 3.3.. bu i want to know how to upload a game to the cartridge..... the g/s pro 3.3 have the printer port connection on the back.... please let me know if any of you know of any software for that..........
thanx

<P ID="signature"></P>

The 9th Sage
07-04-2004, 01:54 AM
I'll tell you the answer if you promise to never cross-post again.

<P ID="signature">http://www.xanga.com/ZeldaDDhttp://www.angelfire.com/realm2/zdd2/images/2_percent_more.txt</a></P>

tedgar
07-04-2004, 04:05 AM
okay... sorry. i never do it again... whats the answer.....


its no.... isn't it.......<img src=smilies/cwm10.gif>

<P ID="signature"></P>

The 9th Sage
07-04-2004, 02:49 PM
> its no.... isn't it.......
Hey, no prob with the cross posting so long as you don't do it over and over again like some people who've come here...heh. :P

And yep, the answer is no unfortunatly. Cartridges like that are called ROMs for a reason - They are Read Only Memory. That being said, there are cartridges you can get for the N64 that you can flash a game onto from your computer (one of the games you copied using your GameShark perhaps). I don't really know too much about them myself, but it seems a bit tricky...as I understand it, N64 cartridges all have a certain boot chip inside them containing the code the N64 needs to start the cartridge. These flash cats don't have that, and so you need to find a cartridge that has the boot chip you need for that game and plug that in the top so that the flash cart can use the boot chip and be able to start up the game...

I dunno, I could be wrong here though. HCS could tell you a lot more than I could, and probably more clearly too. He's practically an N64 god. :)


<P ID="signature">http://www.xanga.com/ZeldaDDhttp://www.angelfire.com/realm2/zdd2/images/2_percent_more.txt</a></P>

hcs
07-05-2004, 10:38 PM
> That being said, there are cartridges you can get
> for the N64 that you can flash a game onto from your
> computer (one of the games you copied using your GameShark
> perhaps).

There are official N64 flash cartidges used by official developers, and then there are unofficial volatile RAM devices used by pirates and developers. These go by names such as Dr. V64, Dr. V64 Jr, Z64, CD64, etc. They allow you to load a ROM image into the RAM from a computer (over a parallel port cable) or from a CD, Zip disk, or hard drive built into the unit itself. They are variously called backup devices, copiers, RAM/ROM devices, ROM emulators, etc.

>N64 cartridges all have a certain boot chip inside them containing the
>code the N64 needs to start the cartridge. These flash cats don't have
>that, and so you need to find a cartridge that has the boot chip you need
>for that game and plug that in the top so that the flash cart can use the
>boot chip and be able to start up the game...

The chip in each genuine N64 cartridge is called a CIC, it interfaces with the N64 to do initial CRC checking and it is detected continuously while the program runs. It has, AFAIK, never been copied. The simple solution is, as The 9th Sage said, is to simply connect the CIC through the ROM emulator directly to the N64. This is why you need a cartridge plugged into the Gameshark in order to use it, the N64 won't boot without a CIC plugged into it somehow. There are a few different kinds of CIC, which is why you need to set the Gameshark to various boot codes before running certain games (so that the Gameshark is expecting to be run with the proper CIC).
This also allows you to use the rewritable save RAM on a cartridge for whatever game you have loaded into the ROM emulator. For example, if you have Glover on the copier and you plug Super Mario 64 into it in order to boot, you will be able to save your game on the Super Mario 64 cartridge.

For more info see:
http://n64.icequake.net/
and
http://elitendo.com/

And assuming you are the same person who asked this question on Dextrose, see http://dextrose.com/_forum/showthread.php?threadid=10249 for another interpretation of your question.

> I dunno, I could be wrong here though.

Nope, everything sounded right to me.

<P ID="signature">-http://hcs.freeshell.org/index.cgihcs</a></P>

The 9th Sage
07-06-2004, 02:26 AM
> Nope, everything sounded right to me.

Heh, *phew*. That was all stuff that I learned almost entirely from osmosis, never having actually worked with the N64 flash carts (ROM emulators, whatever) personally. I never knew that about the GameShark 'key code' things for a fact, but I kind of assumed it had something to do with that. Is that sort of the same thing as the UUcodes in some N64 emulator graphics plug-ins or is that something else (probably something else, but if it's not people need to decide on terminology for these things ;)?

BTW, call me Ian. I feel weird having somebody call me by the entirety of my new ZMD handle for some reason.
<img src=smilies/laff.gif>

<P ID="signature">http://www.xanga.com/ZeldaDDhttp://www.angelfire.com/realm2/zdd2/images/2_percent_more.txt</a></P>

hcs
07-06-2004, 12:41 PM
> Is that sort of the same thing as the UUcodes in some
> N64 emulator graphics plug-ins or is that something else
> (probably something else, but if it's not people need to
> decide on terminology for these things ;)?

Those are different types of RSP microcode (ucode). ucode is a program that runs on the RSP and does geometry transforms to generate the raw display list to send to the RDP to actually draw the polygons. There are a few standard types and a couple weird ones, generally they became more advanced as time went on. Early N64 emulators always emulated these at a high level, by simulating the behavior of the ucode. Nowadays every decent emulator has the option to directly emulate the RSP, for better accuracy at a slight speed cost. The Project 64 RSP Plugin gives you the option to "Send display list to graphics plugin", this enables the high level emulation, unchecking it enanbles the low-level, direct RSP emulation.
The RSP is a programmable DSP (Digial Signal Processor). There is also audio ucode for the audio synthesis, again with different varieties. Many emulators have that simulated, too. And then of course there are other uses for it, say emulating the NES's PPU...

> BTW, call me Ian. I feel weird having somebody call me by
> the entirety of my new ZMD handle for some reason.

I wanted to call you ZDD but I thought it would confuse our new friend...

<P ID="signature">-http://hcs.freeshell.org/index.cgihcs</a></P>

The 9th Sage
07-06-2004, 04:17 PM
> Those are different types of RSP microcode (ucode). ucode
> is a program that runs on the RSP and does geometry
> transforms to generate the raw display list to send to the
> RDP to actually draw the polygons.

Ah, right, ok...that makes sense.

> I wanted to call you ZDD but I thought it would confuse our
> new friend...

Heh, no problem.

<P ID="signature">http://www.xanga.com/ZeldaDDhttp://www.angelfire.com/realm2/zdd2/images/Spenchi_Xanga.txt</a></P>

tedgar
07-06-2004, 09:46 PM
> > I wanted to call you ZDD but I thought it would confuse
> our
> > new friend...

YEAH! BABY! WOOOHOOO! MY FIRST FRIEND!! EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
IM SO GLAD I GOTS A FRIEND NOW!!!
WOW!
heh, u wer talking about me right?......right?
<img src=smilies/laff.gif>
j/p
but yeah thankx for your help.... i don't know much about all this rom hacking stuff.. but i have messed around a bit. like changing simple graphics and text.... but are there any good tutorials for hacking roms.... from beginner to advanced???
and also is there any tutoials on how to make a hom-made v64jr type device from home???

<P ID="signature"></P>

hcs
07-07-2004, 07:44 AM
> but are there any
> good tutorials for hacking roms.... from beginner to
> advanced???

I leave that for our more experienced ROM hackers to explain, I've no direct experience with that myself.,

> and also is there any tutoials on how to make a hom-made
> v64jr type device from home???
Yes, the http://gamesys.sourceforge.net/PV-backup</a> is a v64jr-like device that you can, in theory, build. Ask/search around on Dextrose to find out about others who have built it (or their own designs). I'd personally recommend trying to buy one, myself, but that's just because my http://hcs.freeshell.org/ubc.htmlelectronics skills</a> suck.

<P ID="signature">-http://hcs.freeshell.org/index.cgihcs</a></P>

MooglyGuy
07-07-2004, 08:42 AM
> Nowadays every decent emulator has the option
> to directly emulate the RSP, for better accuracy at a slight
> speed cost.

That's completely irrelevant because no video plugins currently process RDP display lists and properly emulate them. This is a combination of several reasons, mostly the fact that there really isn't all that much documentation to go on apart from Mike Tedder's outdated and inaccurate RDP documentation that was released with the last source release of Project Unreality. On top of that is the fact that complete, proper emulation of the full RCP architecture will be slow, no matter how you slice it. I've been doing a large amount of research lately, and apparently the only person to have ever written an actually functional plugin that fully processes the RDP display lists never released it (though he sent me the main source file for the plugin) due to the fact that it was horribly slow. Furthermore, by all accounts from people in the N64 scene, even if you were to have a flawless RDP plugin, you would still end up with graphical corruption, sometimes minor and sometimes not, due to the fact that even the best RSP plugin is still only 95% accurate on geometry transforms.

Anyway, N64 emulation still has a whole hell of a long way to go before it can be considered anything more than hacky crap...

<P ID="signature">http://www.zophar.net/Files/mooglish.png
"Kupo, motherfucker!! DO YOU SPEAK IT!?"</P>

MegaManJuno
07-07-2004, 09:29 PM
> Furthermore, by all accounts from people in the N64 scene, even if you were to have a flawless RDP plugin, you would still end up with graphical corruption, sometimes minor and sometimes not, due to the fact that even the best RSP plugin is still only 95% accurate on geometry transforms.

-----

Seems to me that if it was only 95% accurate that it couldn't really be considered "flawless" anyway... but maybe that's just me. <img src=smilies/erm.gif>

<P ID="signature"></P>

MooglyGuy
07-07-2004, 10:24 PM
> Seems to me that if it was only 95% accurate that it
> couldn't really be considered "flawless" anyway... but maybe
> that's just me.

Seems to me that you have problems telling the difference between the acronym "RDP" and the acronym "RSP"...


<P ID="signature">http://www.zophar.net/Files/mooglish.png
"Kupo, motherfucker!! DO YOU SPEAK IT!?"</P>

MegaManJuno
07-07-2004, 10:58 PM
> Seems to me that you have problems telling the difference
> between the acronym "RDP" and the acronym "RSP"...
>

Oops.. you got me there... I totally overlooked that. Makes a lot more sense now that I notice that <img src=smilies/laff.gif>

<P ID="signature"></P>