PDA

View Full Version : Genecyst, Nesticle, XP and me.


The Empiricyst
07-01-2004, 08:53 PM
Now hold on a second. Just wait.
Before you tell me by default how outdated Genecyst and Nesticle are, please read on.
I can't get Genecyst or Nesticle to run in Windows XP. A DOS/Command Prompt issue, I'm sure. Both Genecyst and Nesticle have something to offer that I haven't found in any other emulators and that's frame pause, frame advance, the ability to disable single layers, and screenshot. All in one emulator. All absolutely necessary to capture sprites. Without these, I've been unable to uncover any other method of capture Genesis and NES sprites!
So I seek one of two solutions...

A: Are there other emulators with these or other sprite ripping features?

B: Is there in fact a way to get Genecyst and or Nesticle functioning on Windows XP?

Help! I really need sprite ripping abilities!

<P ID="signature"></P>

Richter X
07-01-2004, 10:19 PM
I think either DGen or Gens allows for layer disabling. As for NES, I don't know. NESTen, perhaps?

<P ID="signature"><center>"Never trouble trouble till trouble troubles you." - A Fortune Cookie</center></P>

SirDaShadow
07-02-2004, 12:20 AM
> B: Is there in fact a way to get Genecyst and or Nesticle
> functioning on Windows XP?
>
> Help! I really need sprite ripping abilities!


Love when people blame it on XP, when there are so many other factors...go to your command line and type genecyst -novesa and drool
<img src=smilies/cwm11.gif>

<P ID="signature"></P>

The 9th Sage
07-02-2004, 01:21 AM
> I think either DGen or Gens allows for layer disabling. As
> for NES, I don't know. NESTen, perhaps?

Well, Gens doesn't as far as I know, unless it's buried in the menus somewhere.

<P ID="signature">http://www.xanga.com/ZeldaDDhttp://www.angelfire.com/realm2/zdd2/images/2_percent_more.txt</a></P>

AkaneJones
07-02-2004, 06:09 AM
> I think either DGen or Gens allows for layer disabling. As
> for NES, I don't know. NESTen, perhaps?
>
There arn't any sprite viewer/hacker options in NESten, though it does have a debugger.

<P ID="signature"><hr>
<center>
http://members.aol.com/AkaneJones/Pics/LMleh.gifhttp://members.aol.com/AkaneJones/Pics/LynnStatus.png
</center></P>

Fla Flash
07-02-2004, 06:44 AM
That's why I like 98SE.
I wish people would quit knocking Nesticle, too. :P

<P ID="signature"><img src=http://www.freewebs.com/mewscorner/mean.png>
Diary of a Vigilante III...The Homecoming.. (http://www.freewebs.com/mewscorner/)</P>

Lillymon
07-02-2004, 07:15 AM
> That's why I like 98SE.
I wish people would quit knocking
> Nesticle, too. :P

Why? The emulation accuracy is horrific. Unless you have a specific reason (like the guy who started this thread) or a slow PC (like you), there's no reason why you should use NESticle. I've seen people with faster PCs than mine (which can comfortably handle Nestopia) using NESticle either because they never bothered trying another emulator and they think the only improvements made since were trivial and don't affect casual gamers...

<P ID="signature"><marquee direction=left scrollamount=8><img src=http://home.graffiti.net/lillymon:graffiti.net/images/keletav.gif></marquee>
!luos ruoy tae lliw stelek ehT</P>

The Empiricyst
07-03-2004, 06:34 PM
> go to your command line and type genecyst -novesa and drool

I typed that line in command prompt, but of course it didn't do anything... what do you mean exactly?

<P ID="signature"></P>

CEpeep
07-03-2004, 06:59 PM
> I typed that line in command prompt, but of course it didn't
> do anything... what do you mean exactly?
>

Navigate to your genecyst directory from the command prompt and type "genecyst -novesa" (no quotes). It will disable VESA support and should allow genecyst to run.

<P ID="signature"><hr>
"Every gun that is made every warship launched every rocket fired signifies in the final sense a theft from those who hunger and are not fed those who are cold and are not clothed"
Eisenhower</P>

The Empiricyst
07-03-2004, 09:24 PM
> Navigate to your genecyst directory from the command prompt
> and type "genecyst -novesa" (no quotes). It will disable
> VESA support and should allow genecyst to run.

Cool. Did that, and it gave me some crap about Error [35]: General protection fault in DOS4GW.EXE etc... That's odd, and I do have Dos4gw in the same directory and all.
Feels like this almost worked though...

<P ID="signature"></P>

The Empiricyst
07-03-2004, 09:28 PM
I actually have Nesticle running now
Still no Genecyst...

<P ID="signature"></P>

The Empiricyst
07-03-2004, 09:35 PM
Score!
On a suspicion that my Dos4GW was corrupt, I took nesticle's and copied it over the one I had in the Genecyst directory and it actually worked. With the NOVESA thing, of course.
Thank you all for the help.

<P ID="signature"></P>